Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

2 Inspires with two differant issues

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by GizaDog, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    My first Inspire (bought Jan 2015) has always had issues with flying past 500-600 meters. Once beyond that range the RC signal drops and presents me with a low signal warning.

    My second newer Inspire can fly past that range but has another issue.

    This newer Inspire has an issue with the video signal dropping during flight. This one had an issue with the camera from the beginning and was replaced by DJI after it just stopped working. Once I got it back with a new camera, it still has issues with dropping its signal during flights. When its on the ground its fine. Once I start flying that's when the issue starts. Ive checked and cleaned the connectors and made sure the Micro SD card is inserted correctly.

    At this point Im not sure what to do. Each has their own issues.
     
  2. Carlsberg

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    100
    3rd time's a charm - pull out that CC one more time.
    I'm sure #3 will be perfect - :)
     
  3. Kauaigene

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    96
    Easy for you to say

    Wonder if he tried swapping cameras between birds?
     
  4. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Good idea but done that too. Again the camera is brand new on the second bird after being "replaced" by DJI service.
     
  5. IanAuch

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried flying in different locations? Could it be some interference caused by a local source? I would take i to a different location away form all possible signal sources and see if you have the same issues.
     
  6. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    I fly all over the place. That last location was in the desert where there is no interference. I have flown the first Inspire there without video loss.
     
  7. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  8. huppe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    317
    Did you fly throuht it?Got that message once and awhile and I just continue the flight.There has been times that this message appeared 3 times in a row but just go on and message was green.Makes sure your high enough when testing this.No worry when you lose signal because your Inspire will go in RTH and return.Once signal is ok you will have full control again.
    It could be the location,but I've been over 2 miles (3200 mtr) and sometimes I got the "no signal " and fly through it and sometimes nothing happens.But make sure you're altitude or failsafe mode is high enough because your Inspire will come back in a straight line.
     
  9. SultanGris

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    238
    Is it truly the RC signal or the video signal this warning refers too? does it say low signal or signal interference? you should be able to fly around 5+ miles with the control signal and will lose video signal long before losing control signal. If its signal interference im pretty sure this refers to video signal and the warning is based on whether or not the controller detects the presence of wifi signals in the area. people report seeing this message more when they are close to wifi routers while flying and everyone ive seen talking about it so far that has flown anyway says there is zero effect on their ability to fly in the area. This error just started popping up after a firmware update and it seems as though they adjusted the value of outside signal detected to trigger it and its very very sensitive when there is no actual interference.
     
  10. huppe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    317
    Strangely enough since last update I didn't see the message anymore.And I've been away almost 2 miles last weekend.I was afraid that DJI makes a kind of limit on this but no.
     
  11. Nicoleto

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you tried swapping remotes or perhaps using both remotes with one inspire? This way you could rule out remote end problems.
     
    #11 Nicoleto, Sep 18, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2015
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  12. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    Yea I always used to get video dropout on my rev. c Inspire. It eventually contributed to me losing it when compass interference and video loss happened in conjunction and I had no VLOS as it drifted away.
    DJI replaced it with a rev. d and I don't have the problem any more. Well the video does cut out at times but rarely and it always pops right back up.