Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

4k Inspire footage problems: noise + moiré

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm an assistant editor at a post-production studio. We have a television movie that keeps failing international QC because of problems with our quad footage. Every single shot (we used about five) has failed QC due to noise and moiré.

The shots in question are over a grassy field with sky in background. We gave up fixing the sky and ended up cropping it out, so now it's just grass. After many denoise attempts using different software, it's still failing.

The footage was shot on an Inspire 1, 4K at 60mb/s. We requested that the operator shoot 1080p @ 60mb/s as we thought this might prevent some of the problems we're having, perhaps this is not possible given the Inspire's camera settings, at any rate the operator shot 4K.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone here has had problems getting Inspire footage to pass broadcast standards, and if there are any specific workflows unique to this camera type.

I'm also interested to hear any commentary on the Inspire's onboard camera vs gopro. My post supervisor seems to believe that the gopro camera would have been better, as we have gopro shots for non-quadrocopter footage that all passed QC fine (although our colorist is not a big fan of them). I'm wondering if that's not just a case of the post team being more familiar with the gopro vs the relatively unknown Inspire camera.

Any help is much appreciated, thanks.

Hello all, I'm an assistant editor at a post-production studio. We have a television movie that keeps failing international QC because of problems with our quad footage. Every single shot (we used about five) has failed QC due to noise and moiré.

The shots in question are over a grassy field with sky in background. We gave up fixing the sky and ended up cropping it out, so now it's just grass. After many denoise attempts using different software, it's still failing.