Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

4K Video on a Mac - what are you using?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Lofty Visions, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hi folks

    I pick up my Inspire 1 at the weekend (coming from a P2V+) and would like to know what monitor Mac users are using to work with 4K?

    I have had a look at Apple's website and they have a few approved monitors (for big $$) but I've also read that some TVs will work too.

    I have a late 2013 MBP 15inch Retina (16GBRam/1TB SSD) so I don't need to buy a 5K iMac if I can get a decent monitor.

    Best newish monitor I could find for the price is this:
    https://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=29708

    Would love to hear your views.

    Thanks
    John
     
  2. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    I have a 5K mac desktop I picked up early this year and I am very happy with it. I am usually on my macbook, otherwise, but it bogs down when I edit video in 4k.
     
  3. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Try editing some footage with your mac before you get a monitor. Your 2013 machine will probably struggle and change the priorities.
     
  4. Luis Morales

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Madrid
    i am running late 2014 MBP 16GB/Nvidia/512SSD

    FCPX runs fine. at 2k it runs perfect, davinci resolve is a no go on 4k realtime its totally gone and too laggy to use, for a smooth 4k editing you will need to render proxies of all your media witch requires lengthy initial transcoding. but after that your fine.

    i do all my editing at 4k but my final versions are always full hd or 2k
     
  5. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yeah I'm thinking I might shoot in 4k but edit in 1080 even though my MBP has a discreet graphics card. From what I've read it seems working with 4k is a bit of a hassle
     
  6. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    It's not a hassle BUT needs latest generation gear. Just try and you'll know soon enough. BTW you get the performance hit even if you edit for a 1080 output, the bulk of the job is decoding the source video.
     
  7. locklin

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    You can create "proxies" in FCP so you can work flawlessly with 4K videos in an iMac 21.5" 2012 as mine...
     
  8. DodgeP

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    40
    I'm using an early 2011 MBP (Didn't realize how old it was until I just checked because it just works!) but I've done a few upgrades, 16GB of RAM, 500GB SSD HD and that's it. I can play 4k files but I can't edit them. I create Proxy files 600 x ??? and edit via Premiere Pro. Replacing the proxy with the full res files once I'm ready to render.
     
  9. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Thanks guys. I think i'll wait and see how my MBP handles it first. It'd just be nice to work on a bigger screen that can actually view 4k natively.

    Mazz, may I ask what specs your 5k iMac has in terms of CPU, HDD and ram please? Thanks
     
  10. Luis Morales

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Madrid
    the real difference is made by the graphics card, cpu and memory has not changed a lot in the last 4 years.

    FCPX and davinci uses graphics card to process realtime. you can always connect an external monitor to your MBP. i have 2 ultra wide LG screens (no 4k but they do 2k very well)
     
  11. Luis Morales

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Madrid
    the real difference is made by the graphics card, cpu and memory has not changed a lot in the last 4 years.

    FCPX and davinci uses graphics card to process realtime. you can always connect an external monitor to your MBP. i have 2 ultra wide LG screens (no 4k but they do 2k very well)
     
  12. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
  13. amkorp

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Toronto, ON / Buffalo, NY
    Running (playback) and editing are two completely different beasts. You'll find that there aren't many mobile video cards that can handle 4k editing. Things really start to go downhill when you add effects and start to colour grade the video (since you'll most likely be shooting in log).
     
    DodgeP likes this.
  14. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I thought I'd try it out so I downloaded a sample 4k video file and chucked it into FCPX with a few transitions and effects. Worked a treat but had to turn the fans up a bit. No other issues. Pretty chuffed to be honest :)
     
    Luis Morales likes this.
  15. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 2.10.06 PM.png
     
    Lofty Visions likes this.
  16. Lofty Visions

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Thanks Mazz, nice! Well it seems I had nothing to worry about. Here's my rMBP plugged into a 40inch Philips 4k monitor running perfectly. That's a FCPX project from start to finish, a Logic Pro project and two Chrome windows all on one screen. I prefer the max retina setting however for text size.
     

    Attached Files:

    Black Sky likes this.
  17. Thor Skjaldberg

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  18. 550 Productions

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Inspire records in a nasty, highly compressed codec. Decoding it for playback and editing steals a lot of horsepower from your machine.

    I typically transcode to ProRes(LT) before the edit. It adds a step up front, but makes editing, FX, grading, etc. so much smoother.
     
  19. Black Sky

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Rainbow Lake NY (near Lake Placid)
    The New Mac Pro "trash can" 8core 64 ram, 1tb cash, With 8tb of external hard drives. Using an "apple cinema 30 to edit.
    Using Final Cut 10 ,It renders fast.
    I have a 4k Samsung 55 curved to watch it on in the living room.
    Love the inspire! want another.....want to build a waterproof version.
     
    Bryan Conover and Lofty Visions like this.
  20. Picturemaker

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    We edit in 4K all the time using FCPX via Black Magic Studio which feeds a 4K LG monitor. The wonderful thing with FCPX is it creates HD Proxies for you to work in on import if required. That way you can scroll around the timeline effortlessly for the bulk of your edit work in proxy mode - then view the 4k filed for preview and export at the click of a mouse button!
     
    Black Sky likes this.