Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

A little bummed

Discussion in 'DJI Go App' started by charles hidalgo, Jul 23, 2015.

  1. charles hidalgo

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    93647
    Ive been using my pilot app with my iphone 5s and 6+ with no problems and bought an ipad mini2 and its having freeze up issues from almost nothing to 4 or 5 seconds or more. I thought for sure it could handle it and I know it should. It's brand new out of the box and used just for the pilot app. Ive disabled app refresh also.
     
  2. Queen1944

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    What's the chip in the mini? Thought I saw a thread that said the dji pilot app needs the A7 chip and some of the minis come with A5. Sound like freeze source to me?
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  3. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    345
    My Mini2 works very well, and according to the specs it has theA7.
    It should work without problem.
     
  4. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Have you turned on hardware acceleration in the Pilot App? A7 needs it and makes it much smoother with less lag.
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  5. DodgeP

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    40
    I use the iPad Mini 2 as well and I have not experienced any issues with the Pilot App.
     
  6. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Make SURE it ACTUALLY is a Mini 2! Not going to go into detail or point fingers, but depending where you bought it, it very well maybe a refurbished or returned product. More importantly it's all about the "Chip and Retina Display". As mentioned, "A7chipset or better" and would suggest in the General Settings to "Enable Hardware Decode"..

    As future reference when purchasing apple products make certain your product is authentic. Go to settings, General, and click ABOUT! Model Number, Serial Number and other information are readily available. Problem with resale or refurbished is the possibility of NOT having what is specified on the box or detailed descriptions... Just throwing this out there as this HAPPENS in speedy sales.. Just throwing caution to the WIND
     
  7. charles hidalgo

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    93647
    I returned it to apple for another and the second one is fine so no worries. There was definitely something wrong with it.
     
    #7 charles hidalgo, Jul 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2015
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  8. TrumperyDust

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Vermont
    I love a happy ending!:)
     
    charles hidalgo and Queen1944 like this.
  9. charles hidalgo

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    93647
    Thanks for that info. Yeah I kind of know my way around computers as I have been in IT for over 15 years and programing since I was 14 (I'm now 45). I kind of know Apple as well as one of the first programming languages I learned was Pascal which was a primary language used by Apple early on. The ipad was purchased from an Apple store and was returned for another and it is working fine now. I was mostly bummed that all my apple products have worked so well since 2007 and this is the first one I had to return. I guess I should have been more clear from the beginning.
     
    #9 charles hidalgo, Jul 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2015
    PB30X and Queen1944 like this.
  10. charles hidalgo

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    93647
    Actually this is not true. I have installed it on my original ipad mini but the lag is unbearable. Technically it can be done though.
     
  11. charles hidalgo

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    93647
    As do I. I'm good now. My iphone6 works great in a pinch and we have a couple of ipad air2's around the house but I personally think those are too big. The mini2 fit my needs just right.
     
  12. K2media904

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you turn on the hardware acceleration? I have a Mini 2 and have terrible lag time.
     
  13. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    [​IMG]

    General Settings and Enable Hardware Encoding
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.