Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Altitude Limit on Inspire

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by DattaGroover, Apr 19, 2015.

  1. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    If I understand correctly, the Inspire has a fixed altitude limit of 400'.

    What happens if you launch next to a 420' hill, and you want to fly over it?

    Maybe I've misunderstood, because that doesn't make much sense to me.

    What is the story here?
     
  2. CaptainBadge

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    240
    You can change the altitude limit in the settings. It will give you the standard 'These are the rules and break them at your own peril' warning.

    Fly safe and enjoy.
     
  3. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    3,884
    T
    This has been covered many ,many, many times previously.....
    The Inspire has a software controlled ceiling of 500meters FROM IT'S TAKEOFF POINT.
    That means if you took off from Everest Summit (although you couldn't because the air would be too thin) you could climb to 500m above Everest.
    If you took off from the bottom of a 500m deep canyon you could climb level to the canyon rim - and that's it.
    Any height between 1 meter and 500 meters is able to be set by the user to limit the Inspires altitude.
    The exception to this (with the latest firmware release) is that if no GPS reception is present the Inspire is automatically limited to 122m/400ft above take off point.
    I hope that clarifies things.
     
    Airwolf13 likes this.
  4. Airwolf13

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Hollywood
    Very well done and correctly stated!
     
  5. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Got it. I read some wrong information previously, thanks.
     
  6. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Yep, thanks. Do you know if the Phantom 3 has the same limit?
     
  7. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    . . . and I ask because I like to fly in places that have a huge range of elevation in a short distance. 500m is very limiting if the landscape changes 800m in a half-mile.
     
  8. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    3,884
    In that case, the Inspire is probably not the craft for you - The Phantom 3 will have the same restrictions
     
  9. DattaGroover

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    At least for me, that's a strong argument for the Phantom 3 over the Inspire: It would easier to hike to the top (or halfway up) with the P3
     
  10. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    I disagree, I'd rather take the I1 as it is heavier and it will help you grow much larger quads.
     
    Ninja, m1ch1gan, Lucan and 1 other person like this.
  11. mohansen

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    I have seen several discussions around the limits of altitude above the take off point. Is there a max elevation on the Inspire? What is the highest anyone has taken off and flown at?

    I understand flight times, etc would be impacted. I was going to try my Inspire out at 12,000 feet but didn't get a chance after all.
     
  12. InspiredOne

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    Isn't there a fine for those who post puns in this forum? ;)
     
    Robert walker and Lucan like this.
  13. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    No pun intended. I'm extremely into fitness.
     
    Ninja and Lucan like this.
  14. InspiredOne

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    OK, you pulled that one out of the fire. Next time the fine will be doubled.

    P.S. Do have any good responses for avoiding speeding tickets? o_O
     
    Lucan and sirnikolas like this.
  15. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    The best excuse I come up with the last time I got caught speeding was
    "I couldn't see the sign telling me not to do it"
    The police officer literally broke out in tears and let me off.
     
  16. InspiredOne

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    That's like the blind guy who got pulled over for erratic driving. The cop asked him why on earth he was driving a car if he was blind. He replied, "My buddy is too drunk to drive." :confused:

    True story!
     
    Lucan and sirnikolas like this.
  17. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Don't remember it but it's specified in the manual.
     
  18. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
  19. InspiredOne

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    That's correct.

    Wouldn't you lose your signal before it ever got that high? That's almost 3 miles or 4.5 kilometers.
     
  20. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    I shite when she's at 400 feet. Someone would need to hit RTH on me if I flew her that high...