Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

App dropouts in IOS and Android

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by m00se, May 17, 2015.

  1. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    can anyone tell me if the current version of the android app has the same video dropout problems as the IOS app? And if so, is it possible to roll back the Android version to a more stable version ?
     
  2. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    160
    Mine does, just installed app from January, shows 42 channels with 1 to 32 active, mostly green good channels, haven't flown yet.
     
  3. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    how did you install the app from jan ? android i guess?
     
  4. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    He's using Android.
     
  5. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    so can you just roll back android? does the android app work well?
     
  6. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    You just uninstall the app and reinstall a different version. It's as simple as that.
    Works really well on Nvidia Sheild.
    I personally use the air 2 but I'm an android man. I only bought the air 2 because it was the most recommended tablet by dji tech support and it's their most supported. So they say...
     
  7. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    well the mini 3 hasnt been too succesfull so far, although having thought more about my problem, the dropout was complete, including loss of RC, so that would suggest that the tablet wasnt the cause but rather a symptom
     
  8. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    The latest ios pilot app is missing a lot of channels. Every time it's updated, we seem to lose more than we gain.
    Go figure.
    I'm seriously thinking of getting the Nvidia Sheild and installing 1.0.7
     
  9. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    I wouldnt mind that much, if it wasnt for the fact that it had a complete dropout....... it at least needs to work reliably.
     
  10. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    The only thing that's stopping me buying the sheild is it's got less realestate. I kinda like the almost 10" screen on my shitee air 2.
     
  11. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    I doubt it has anything to do with the app version as it works for so many others...
    I've read of occasional dropouts with all versions on all platforms since I've been following Inspire stuff. Usually rather due to interference, crud/other running programs on the mobile devices, or prolems with the Inspire or controller.

    The channels that have been "removed" should never have been there in the first place as it's illegal to use them pretty much everywhere in the world.
     
  12. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    Interference would seem to be logical, as I was in a building when it happened, and when I went outside it reconnected.

    I have also wondered if the lag and pixelation on the lightbridge may be due to overheating as it seems to get worse with time
     
  13. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    not getting into legalities, but............. who cares? Im up for the manufacturer letting the pilot decide what to do. Also, most channels that are illegal to use are that way because they are reserved for special uses, special uses which if they were being used in the area would show up on the scanner and cause me to not use that channel.

    Personally I would (except in the case of live streaming) much rather have a lower res 900mhz video stream that is more resilient to interference.
     
  14. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Well you're with the wrong manufaturer then... seeing how DJI are insisting with keeping absolute control of what you should do or not (no fly zones, height limits etc) don't count on them to leave you that freedom :rolleyes:

    900MHz would be even worse as that's used for mobile phones in most of the world, so you'd not only also get interference, but would also risk much more if you transmitted in there and disrupted communications for others.