Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Artefact in still images with Inspire FC350 Camera

Discussion in 'Photos and Videos' started by Nick.Muzik, Nov 20, 2015.

  1. Nick.Muzik

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Im flying the original i1 with X3 gimbal and original camera. I have only been shooting DNG's, and find horrible noise/artefacts in the top third of my images when zoomed in to 100%, usually in the sky, see attached image. Is anyone experiencing the same issue. I have checked the first image I ever shot with the camera, and it too has these specs. It's really noticeable in print.
    I usually shoot in LOG with -2 sharpness
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Cheers

    Nick

    View attachment 4602
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    Use the DNG cleaner on the downloads page - Inspire 1 - Downloads - Manuals, Software, Drivers download | DJI
     
  3. Nick.Muzik

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I have run the files through the DNG cleaner, but now the files are unsupported or corrupt and wont open in Lightroom of photoshop cc ?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    345
    attachment is gone?
     
  5. Nick.Muzik

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
  6. Talon Six

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Wyoming, USA
    Did you ever get a resolution to this? I'm having the same issues.
     
  7. Nick.Muzik

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Hi Talon, still busy dealing with DJI about it, have used another camera on my inspire and had the same results. They have been really good about communicating with me, but now awaiting a final resolution on what are are actually going to do about it........will keep you posted, but contact them at support@dji.com
     
  8. PortCanaveralFlorida

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Merritt Island Florida
    Fire up Photoshop and use Camera Raw or Lightroom! It's easy to remove, alter any image.
     
  9. Nick.Muzik

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    @portcanavralflorida did you see the image?! That's, definitely not what I paid for! I'd be using the clone tool for the rest of my life if I had to clean all my images!
     
  10. PortCanaveralFlorida

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Merritt Island Florida
    right! Now this could also be junk on the sensor (I have it clean my DLSR all the time, just a thought) but my images I get from my unit is "so far" free of junk! I hang around the beach a lot so this may change.
     
  11. Talon Six

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Wyoming, USA
    The artifacts become more obvious after processing in LR.

    Is there even a way to clean the X3 sensor?
     
    #11 Talon Six, Dec 14, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2015
  12. PortCanaveralFlorida

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Merritt Island Florida
    good question for the tech guys for sure! I try and keep my i1 off the beach and away from sand as much as possible, those props are slinging sand everywhere, a nightmare with DSLR cameras if you change lens like I do.
    Sensor cleaning.... good question for someone that could chime in.
     
  13. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    This is definitely a DNG reading issue.
    BTW - there is no way to clean the sensor on the x3 unless you want to strip it down.
    The problem you have though in the attached picture is most definitely not contamination of the sensor.
    Try another Program to read/open the DNG file(s) you will find they are fine.