Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

autofocus x5

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by airdrone, Nov 26, 2015.

  1. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    how can i set autofocus on x5
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    3,867
  3. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    On the far right of the camera data line above the camera view, you will see AF/MF. Just tap on the mode you want.
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    3,867
    And make sure switch on lens is not set to MF!
     
  5. brianpgreen

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the link to the manual. I'm 3 days into owning an X5 and have just signed up for the forum so I'm a pretty raw newbie. I've read the manuals, watched the tutorial videos and snuck in two flights during breaks in our Seattle rain. So far I'm not understanding quite how the autofocus works. I'm accustomed to autofocus on a DSLR where you mostly don't have to take any action for the focus to work. During my first flight I took a number of still shots most of which were out of focus. At some point I touched the screen and caused the camera to focus on the point I touched. Is it necessary to constantly be changing the focus point? Is that considered autofocus? If so it seems tough to manage the focus while also flying. I'm sure I'm missing something. I appreciate any explanation you can provide to speed up my learning curve.
     
  6. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    Calibrate the lens and set focus to infinity. At f4 and above you won't need to worry about having to auto focus or tap the screen as unless your subject is a foot away everything you want to shoot will be in focus
     
  7. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    3,867
    Yup.... What he said ^^^^^ :)

    When you calibrate the lens make sure you do so on a high contrast subject around 50m from the x5.
     
  8. brianpgreen

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Awesome thanks fellas. Not only is that helpful it makes me feel smart. That's what I came up with but it's nice to have confirmation from experienced users that I'm on the right track.
     
  9. Craig Thompson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I feel stupid for asking this, but does everyone consider a "high contrast" object?
     
  10. brianpgreen

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for asking. I wanted to but I was trying to limit myself to one dumb question in a row.
     
  11. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    571
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    You need something like an isolated tree against the sky or a building/house where you can make out the features (doors, roof, etc). A low contrast object would a grey road or wood where everything blends into one mass.
     
  12. dronie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    So do you calibrate - and when that's good - then you always shoot video on MF set to infinity?
     
  13. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    Yes, never had any issues with anything being out of focus. The calibration doesn't seem to be an exact science either I did both our lenses without really measuring 50 M of distance, just in the ball park. Before the calibrations however the focus at infinity was completely out of whack.
     
    dronie likes this.
  14. dronie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    So if you shoot MF set to infinity, do you have any idea how close can you get before it gets out of focus with fx. f/8?
     
  15. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    Not an exact idea no, but you'd have to be pretty damn close. 3 feet? 4? 5 maybe?
     
  16. dronie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Thanks your input. I'll give that a try tomorrow. Getting settings for smooth yaw in place...just being a pixel peeper when it comes to focusing.
     
  17. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    Good luck with that! When you find the magic settings please do let me know :)
     
    dronie likes this.
  18. Richard-Inspire

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    40
    just to follow up on the earlier point, I completely understand about the whole "use inifinty focus", but I don't really get how DJI's autofocus actually works. It doesn't constantly refocus, and it doesn't focus just before taking a shot. So I'm not sure (other than touching the screen) how the autofocus actually works. To have to touch the screen is madness, as our hands are busy.

    Ideally there'd be a 'half press' which would force focus on the centre point, but I thought that it would maybe focus quickly before taking the shot. To be in "autofocus" mode, and take a shot and find it completely out of focus is completely bizarre.
     
  19. sideman7

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    You just tap on the screen where you want it to focus, this is your "half press"...
     
  20. YeeaaBoii

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    8
    My question isn't really related to the topic but I didn't feel it was necessary to make a new thread for it.

    When I used to tap to focus, the portion I tapped would zoom in and autofocus then zoom back out. Since the latest update, it doesn't zoom in anymore. Is there any way to get the zoom focus feature back? I've looked through every menu.