Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Battery update

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Dan, Mar 6, 2015.

  1. Dan

    Dan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    it says when doing the firmware update the smart battery gets updated. What do you do if you have multiple batteries do you have to do update for all batteries
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,721
    Likes Received:
    3,875
  3. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA.
    Yes, but not all will require the update. So don't panic if you don't get the update warning. It all depends when the battery was purchased.
     
  4. DaBone

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Sweden
    If you have the firmware update on your SD-card, the battery will update from that.
    And everytime you put a new battery in the battery compartment.
     
  5. Bren

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    15
    New battery coming today. So I'll just wait to see if pilot app prompts me to update, correct? If so, I would only do the sd in the camera as the radio wouldn't require anything further?
     
  6. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA.
    Correct, if the bin is on the sdcard with will apply the update IF required.
     
    lrwskyfilms and Bren like this.
  7. Bren

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    15
    Cool, thanks bro!
     
  8. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA.
    No problem, Anytime.
     
  9. Airwolf13

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Hollywood
    So, Blade Strike, I'm confused. I thought that once we updated the FM on the bird we are supposed to pull that card and insert a new SD just for capturing images. No? Or are we always just to keep that bin file on the SD card that we use for images? Thanks
     
  10. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    It doesn't matter whether or not the update is on the card or not, it takes very little memory. And, like me, if you have many batteries there's no harm in keeping the FW update on the SD card/s in the A/C. IMHO.
     
  11. Bren

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'm taking it as the sd card with the bin file is designated for updates only. I'll use other ones for the multimedia.

    Edit- n/m it doesn't matter evidently.
     
  12. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    It makes no difference, the txt file if you leave it in the AC will just say "cancel". i.e. the AC is already updated.
     
  13. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA.
    Correct..

    If the bin is left on the sdcard it will add to the log file. If all your batteries are up to date you can remove the log file. If you purchase another pack you should always check it against the bin to verify it's updated.
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  14. Airwolf13

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Hollywood
    copy thanks
     
  15. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    Hi,

    Just to confirm, I got two batteries with the I1 that needed updating, I have since bought 6 more, and when I insert them, the drone boots as normal, makes a new text file saying cancel, and nothing else,

    is it safe to assume that they arrived up to date?