Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Burst, AEB (Bracketed) and Timelapse Modes

Discussion in 'Photos and Videos' started by Moleyb, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. Moleyb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    Hi Everyone,

    I'm not sure if everyone knows about this or not, but I thought I would share something I found in the Pilot App which isn't very well documented by DJI. Basically there are a few extra photo modes which could be useful for people.

    To access these different modes, whilst in photo mode, hold down the big shutter/record button for 3 seconds. This then opens a circular menu for other photo options.

    - First is the standard single shot photo.
    - Second is burst mode (you have the option to set 3, 5 or 7 burst photos).
    - Third is AEB (Automatic Exposure Bracketing with option for 3 or 5 shots).
    - And finally, time-lapse (5s, 7s, 10s, 20s and 30s).

    I only got round to checking this after updating to the latest version of the firmware, however, I've got a feeling it might have been available all along?

    Haven't had time to play with these yet, but would love to see peoples experiments.

    All the best,

    IMG_0001-1.jpg IMG_0002.PNG IMG_0003.PNG IMG_0004.PNG IMG_0005.PNG
     
    Hercules_One, tuxevil and likeaninja like this.
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,716
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    Yes it has been available from release.
     
  3. Moleyb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    Ah ok, fair enough. Thought it might be worth sharing though. Seen quite a few people asking online without any answers. Its a cool feature, would have been nice of them to document it better!
     
  4. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Great post. I remember finding this by accident. I'm sure there's lots of people who wouldn't be aware of this feature.
    Thanks for sharing.
     
  5. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    thanks very much, i was just searching for it and couldnt find it until i got here!
    ;)
     
  6. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    had no idea it existed,
    i wonder if it will cause app drops on burst mode, I have had the app freeze twice when taking photos in quick succession .
     
  7. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    tomorrow i will do some test using time lapse 5s at 90° and drawing a route to make a orthophoto in Pix4D
     
  8. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    i cant see the ortho being particularly good if taken with the inspire. The camera is just not good enough. I will be interested to know what pix makes of it though....
     
  9. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    this ortho was made with just 9 photos, was a really quick test
    today i will be testing it more

    PS: it is a geotiff but i cant upload here in that format so i made a jpg just for showing you the first test
     

    Attached Files:

  10. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Can you please tell us why you dont think its good enough? Interested to know.
     
  11. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
    i think we can open a new thread to not go off topic on this one, can some moderator split this?
     
  12. tuxevil

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    22
  13. Extreme

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    I tried this and it doesn't work.
    Android new firmware.
     
  14. Extreme

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does this still work with new firmware
     
  15. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    South West Florida

    Not with my X5, I have to go thru the Camera Menu >Photo> Then choose the shooting mode.
     
    Extreme likes this.