Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

charging hub with mac

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Dan, Sep 17, 2015.

  1. Dan

    Dan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    can you update the charging hub on a mac
     
  2. msinger

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    94
    No. The software is only available for Windows.
     
  3. JamesSpringPilot

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you have a Mac, you never have to update the hub. Its great. There is nothing you have to do.
     
  4. eldorado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    As far as I understand the Charging HUB has been updated to prevent bricking batteries left connected for an extended period. Review this forum link. I don't understand how Mac OS can magically correct any firmware issues, because an OS is not required to operate the HUB.
    Currently there is only a Windows EXE and as a Mac user I believe I must find a PC and update the HUB firmware or risk damaging my DJI Intelligent Batteries. It seems a gross over-site that there is not a suitable fix for Mac OS to update a Charging HUB?
     
  5. JamesSpringPilot

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was being a little sarcastic because of the lack of communication regarding firmware update for the hub device. I do firmware updates for everything that I can but when I look at the firmware update outlet on the hub device – I Assume that so long as everything I have is updated then whatever Updates are in all the batteries will simply transfer over to the Hub Device and be updated. If the hub is meant to be updated then DJI should be very clear about this. It would be useful if they could read and write English.
     
  6. JamesSpringPilot

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    All my batteries are up-to-date and as soon as they are all fully charged I remove them from the hub device.
     
  7. JamesSpringPilot

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    If DJI puts out a hub device that you cannot update that they must take full responsibility if all my batteries die on me.
     
  8. eldorado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    The Intelligent Battery firmware is separate from the Charging HUB firmware and I doubt that an up-to-date Battery will update the HUB firmware. It would be interesting if that did work. If it did then all the customers who don't have a HUB have unnecessary code in their battery firmware.
    At the moment I think I will have to get a PC to update my DJI Charging HUB before risking my batteries :-(
     
  9. dopeytree

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Somerset, UK
    BUMP - Any update on this?
     
  10. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    No bumping threads - strictly against our forum rules.

    Thank You.
     
    dopeytree likes this.
  11. Plingboot

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    UK
    In installed VirtualBox and a copy of XP on my MacBook Pro and updated the firmware that way.

    VirtualBox is free and money can be saved by buying an OEM (rather than boxed) copy of which ever version of Windows you want to run. I got one from a local independent computer shop.