Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Crooked horizon

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by RaptorMan, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. RaptorMan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    214
    OK, I've seen people mention this problem in the past but it doesn't seem like there's a firm solution/fix for this. The newer drones with 3-axis gimbals make for very steady pics and video, but the tilted horizon would drive me to desperation. There are four factors I can think of that could cause this:

    1. IMU drift causing the zero reference to change.

    2. Count loss in the gimbals causing it to drift.

    3. Deflection of the mount.

    4. Rounding error in the control software.

    Of these the two that seem most likely are IMU drift and loss of counts in the gimbals so running the IMU calibration more frequently as well as gimbal calibration should, I think, solve most of the problem. I do not yet have my I1 (next month) so I wonder if those that have had this problem can provide an update.

    Lastly, is this issue common to both the X3 and X5 mounts?


    Brian
     
  2. ringolong

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    66
    It is adjustable with this setting. IMG_0017.PNG
     
  3. RaptorMan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    214
    Other people have commented that this adjustment doesn't solve the problem. Adjusting the gimbal roll would only be a short term fix and it doesn't address the reason for the error in the first place.

    As I indicated in the OP I do not yet have the I1 that I expect to pick up next month and it's because many of the video's I've seen show this problem to greater or lesser degree. The other posts I've seen on the issue go back a while and I was currious to know if there have been improvements to address the problem.

    And, I am particularly curious to know of the X5 Zenmuse mount has the same issues the older X3 mount clearly does. That is, is the X5/X5R Zenmuse gimbal system better, worse or about the same?


    Brian
     
  4. jesse101

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
  5. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I cant help Im afraid. I have found my horizons to be fine. Inspire Pro with X5.
     
  6. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    3,891
    I have explained this many times on the forum - please do a search and you will pull up some informative threads.
    It is down the the weighting bias DJI (and all other manufacturers) place on the gyro v accelerometers. There is no such thing as a 'perfect' gimbal (same as there is no such thing as a perfect lens - they are all compromises) and all of them will behave differently depending on slow curved manoeuvres versus fast dynamic flight.
    DJI do not allow the user to manually set this weighting factor or PID values for their gimbals (which is a very wise move as it would cause a deluge of problems from people who would have no idea how to set them up).
    What we have with the DJI offerings is a happy medium which performs very well for the majority of scenarios - we also have quick access via the C2 button to fast level in situations where there has been slight drift.
     
    Meta4 likes this.
  7. Fanti

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    73
    They are ALL crap. X3 and X5. And DJI for still not acknowledging it nor fixing it. Even a brand new Inspire PRO from December 2015, a 5,000 EUR Machine !!!!, has the issue.

    Its just ridiculous.

    I have gone through 7 Inspires, from january - december 2015 production. All well as flown myself at least 5 Inspires from friends. Same problem.

    IMG_0730.PNG
     
  8. Fanti

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    73
    Sorry Editor, I cannot agree. I have 2 P3Ps, one which has a 99.9% perfect horizon, a P2 which has 99% perfect horizon, as well as Ghost+ with a 99% perfect horizon. The whole idea of the gimbal is to have steady footage and of course a perfect horizon. Is it called the Inspire Pro, or the Inspire Toy ? Does it cost 100 bucks or 5000 bucks ?
     
  9. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    3,891
    I am glad you are happy with your platforms and your gimbals are level (except the Inspire):)
     
  10. Packetdancer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    I clearly haven't had enough coffee yet this morning, because I somehow misread that as 'may your gimbals be level', and thought "that would a great benediction or blessing, if there were a church of aerial photography".

    "May your skies always be clear, your signals strong, and your gimbals level."
     
    The Editor likes this.
  11. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I dont know what to say? I certainly dont have this problem on mine. I use it professionally for tv production. Why do you need so many drones? I don't get the $5000 thing. Thats not expensive for a camera. What other camera on the planet can you buy for that sort of money to shoot pro footage? Im about to order the new Black Magic Ursa which is over 15k plus accessories. I want one because this X5 makes my Canon Mark 3 look sick. I dont know what you use your drones for but to me they are not toys and just a way of carrying a camera.
     
  12. Verza

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Veneto
  13. jesse101

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dont buy an URSA!
     
    pgale likes this.
  14. RaptorMan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    214
    When you do the IMU calibration do you check to see if the table or platform the Inspire is on is level? Is the horizon tilt always the same direction (clockwise or anti-clockwise)? Does the tilt change while flying straight? Does it change when you change direction?


    Brian
     
  15. Verza

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Veneto

    Hi Brian

    Sorry but i think i don't understand your first question...;/
    In order to answer your question:
    I calibrate the imu in the same place where i fly!! On a flat surface!!;)
    The horizon tilt always in same direction (anticlockwise) but im not so sure!!;)
    Yes The tilt change while flying and yes it change when i change direction but also when i change altitude!!;(

    V.



    Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
     
  16. Verza

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Veneto
    Today I contacted dji technical support and they told me to send the drone in care as the only solution.
     
  17. spero

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    19
    I just noticed this issue tonight with a brand new I1 v2. I was in about a 10kt crosswind and the horizon was far from level.