Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

CYCLE YOUR BATTERY EASY...

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Steven Powter, Aug 26, 2015.

  1. Steven Powter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    87
    There have been many discussions on this subject.... i have charged my batteries over 600 time and cycled them over 60 times... so this procedure is a tried and proven....

    1.. first connect battery display to a custom button on your controller....( all the info you need is in that display )
    2.. always check your battery before take off... you will know if your battery needs to be cycled....10 ..20..30..etc
    3... first battery warning is a heads up ... mine is at 30%..
    4... at 20% depending on the distance..bring the Inspire closer to home...when you get comfortable with this the time can be used to practice LOS manoeuvres...
    5... bring up battery display
    6.. over ride the auto land...( this is easy done by pushing up on the stick )
    7...keep the Inspire close and low..
    8..monitor the cells until they show 3.3 volts... this usually takes about a minute or so..
    9.. land ...all done... fast and ready to charge again....
    This procedure is no big deal.. after you had done it a few times... it just becomes a part of looking after your batteries... safe flying....
     
    RDTech and damoncooper like this.
  2. MarqueGlisson

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Pacifica, Ca.
    I can't believe that people don't view this as Basic?
     
    Kilrah and Steven Powter like this.
  3. Steve Domigan

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Whilst I in no way doubt what you say, are dji batteries different than any other lipo? With my other quads, based on what I have seen and read I don't let my other batteries go below about 3.5 loaded resulting in an ideal 3.7 under no load.
     
  4. amkorp

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Toronto, ON / Buffalo, NY
    They are very different.

    When you see 3.3 volts on the app it's not actually 3.3, there is reserved amount not shown to the user. This is why the batteries are called "intelligent" or "smart". The circuitry won't allow over discharge to the point of damaging the cells.
     
    Steven Powter likes this.
  5. BrianG-InspirePH

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I want to prolong the lifespan of my batteries and get the best out of them, how often do I have to do this?
     
  6. Steven Powter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    87
    Brian .... you have to deep cycle your batteries ...every ..10 charges.... and ...the best way to do this is to fly them down.... as in the post....
     
    BrianG-InspirePH likes this.
  7. Ghost_Quad

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
    Normally if time is available I like to deep cycle my batteries every flight...been doing this for 2 years on various DJI equipment with good results.....
     
  8. Eagleview Drones

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    29
    Just remember to let them cool to ambient temperature before recharging.
     
  9. Hercules_One

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    26
    I read in another thread that you can run down battery to the last bit by connecting batt to the control, I tried that myself and it works, is it a safe procedure, what do you think?
     
  10. BrianG-InspirePH

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Steven, I will do that!
     
    Steven Powter likes this.
  11. Eagle2508

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do you do this?
     
  12. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,703
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Yes, it's fine to do this.
     
  13. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,703
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Use the supplied lead that came with your Inspire!
     
  14. Eagle2508

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    So basically use the normal charge cable but keep it unplugged from the mains and plug the battery in to the transmitter?
     
  15. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,703
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    No - there is a cable supplied with the Inspire that is terminated on one end with an battery connector and on the other a jack plug that will plug into the remote charge socket.
    Simply connect the two then switch on the battery.
     
  16. Eagle2508

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah ok, sounds simple enough. Thank you