Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Disappointing Range

Discussion in 'Inspire 2 Discussion' started by crashburn, Jan 9, 2017.

  1. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    166
    I have a better location where I could probably get more range, but my first test is disappointing




    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  2. Ftolino

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    NM
    Change your frequencies settings. Your probably on 5.8
     
    amorrison likes this.
  3. pilotbcm20

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    He tried both 5.8 and 2.4 2.4 seemed to be worse. Hopefully somebody can shed some light on this.


    Sent from my iPhone using InspirePilots
     
  4. Maverik

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    15
    I am hoping that more people attempt the same test to for some comparisons.. I will, however have to wait for the snow to stop.. ;)

    by the way.. what are you using to capture the screen image and sound of your DJI Go 4 app?
     
  5. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    166
    The native screen recorder, comes with the Nvidia Shield

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  6. slim.slamma

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    nyc, ithaca
    Cool video
    1.5 is not awesome. Hopefully you can get it figured out.
    Seems like a good location to get max distance.

    I'm bout ready to upgrade myself so appreciate you sharing.
    Whats your flight time at 30%?
    Back on topic, RC had full bars when video transmission dropped. Can you fly without the camera? Just for a distance test
    I would've kept pushing with the RC signal being full strength.
    Probably just a firmware issue
     
  7. Mark Taylor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    Does anyone understand the advice in the manual to vary the antenna angle between 5.8 and 2.4 ?

    I would have though that regardless of which you use, the strongest signal is going to be when the flat face of the antenna is towards the aircraft and to avoid pointing the tip of the antenna directly at the aircraft...?
     
  8. Feet Up

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    9
    It seems like you are losing signal in the vicinity of that radio tower. Interference?
     
  9. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    166
    No that tower doesn't cause any interference, at least on my other drones (I1, M100, P4, Mavic), flown all around it with no problems. It's a tower used by a rural volunteer fire department. I'm going to fly my Mavic, P4, and I2 under identical conditions and compare them to see if in fact the I2 has range issues.

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  10. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    166
    Doesn't make sense to me. I tilted the controller, up/down, and it didn't seem to affect reception. Must be a reason though.

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  11. KranMc

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gotta marvel at your guts. I think I might have lost my cookies with a $6k aircraft coming unhinged off the remote. Hope this gets figured out for you.


    Sent from my iPad using InspirePilots
     
    ChrisG333 likes this.
  12. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    166
    Mavic wins the range contest, of least in my part of the woods. Mavic got almost 11000 feet, I2 less than 8000 feet. I think I could fly over 16000 feet with I2, at the location where I flew the Mavic over 17200 feet. Anyways, 99% of the time I will be keeping my I2 close to home, but might have to mod the rc when antenna/amp kits come out, just for good signal in high interference locations.



    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  13. slim.slamma

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    nyc, ithaca
    Reaching for straws here but did you adjust the Image Control Rate.
     
  14. Mark Taylor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    Are you still using the default transmission quality setting?

    Under 'custom' in 'HD', for your range tests I'd have thought that turning it down from the default '10' to the minimum '4' might have some impact?

    Also, unless you've got a lot of 2.4GHz traffic around there (unlikely?) you should get considerably better range on 2.4GHz rather than 5.8GHz. I did note that you tried that in your previous test, but not this most recent one.
     
  15. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,974
    Likes Received:
    4,000
    That's precisely what auto spectrum hopping is for. It enables auto switching (if enabled) between 2.4 and 5.8ghz bands when higher levels of interference are detected.
    As an aside, longer range is only possible when HD feed is set to 720 or less.
     
    Phatzo and slim.slamma like this.
  16. Mark Taylor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    Pretty sure he has 720p selected, it was briefly visible in the first video when he change bands.

    There isn't any 'less' option though is there? I only see 720p or 1080p as options.
     
  17. F3honda4me

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    14
    The phantom 4 pro can go 4 miles on either 5.8ghz or 2.4ghz. The inspire 2 should be able to do the same. The fact that you go from full bars for image AND TX to instant disconnect make me feel like something isn't right...
     
  18. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    166
    Settings were at 720p, auto.

    Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
     
  19. Inspire1vision

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    I flew mine out to 6,000 ft and still had 5 bars RC and 5 bars live feed, and I'm in a wifi congested area. I don't remember which frequency band I used though...
     
  20. Inspire1vision

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hey has anybody found a hack to enable all 32 channels inside the go app 4 yet?