Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

DJI - FIRMWARE - Where we stand!

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by crystalfat, Dec 29, 2015.

  1. crystalfat

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Up North
    Hi all,
    I'm new to the drone scene although i do like to research thoroughly first. And whilst there is no question the Inspire is a marvelous piece of hardware I have to wonder at DJi and their level of competence with regard to customer support/software.

    The first problem is the website showing the correct firmware - This is not intuitive at all and has minimal information. I can understand why some people try to upgrade to incorrect firmware. EDIT: this has now been corrected.
    Next - The Firmware is just ......well....who knows? Dji certainly don't. They keep announcing updates. The updates keep bricking drones and then when people pose questions regarding the firmware they go silent and release another update. Only this update introduces more issues regarding things that worked ok before.

    In short - I came here to get some sense!
    Does anyone know the actual state of play with the firmware. I'm reluctant to upgrade due to the amount of people complaining.

    any help/advice appreciated.

    all the best
    chris
     
    #1 crystalfat, Dec 29, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2015
    Dr_Dooms likes this.
  2. go fast

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Miami Fl.
    I personally don't upgrade firmware , unless the new firmware has a feature you really want and even then there always seems to be a tradeoff I'd just leave it "if it ain't broke don't fix it" but that's just my opinion...
     
  3. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,720
    Likes Received:
    3,872
    Current public release firmware v1.6.0.40 is stable and gives me and many on this forum no issues whatsoever.
    Update was (like every one before it) smooth, uneventful and without issue.

    Firmware download page is clear and unambiguous with the most recent version at the top and the release date by each version.
    Release notes are provided should you have any doubts.
    I appreciate you may have concerns but not too sure how much clearer the download page can be!
     
    Dr_Dooms, Meta4, andrew259 and 2 others like this.
  4. JasonUK

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    I agree, the only time I have ever had an issue with FW upgrades has been when it has been my fault.

    Never had an issue since I researched the correct steps to do the upgrade. :)
     
    slim.slamma and The Editor like this.
  5. Predator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Ottawa,Canada
    Best one yet IMO is v.1.5.0.30 And you need it if you have an Osmo. I personally like the inspire X3 better with my Osmo.
     
  6. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    I have always updated everything and have had no real issues at all. I do read and follow this forum religiously, however, keeping an eye on everyone's experiences and opinions. I've had no issues whatsoever with any and all firmware updates.
     
    The Editor likes this.
  7. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    I'm about ready to update...just checking...does this update only apply to the aircraft...not the remote or batteries? Thanks for all your help on this forum.
     
  8. crystalfat

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Up North
    I was referring to this DJI Forum|New Firmware for the Inspire 1/Inspire 1 Pro There are many threads like this. Some users even claim the new update bricks the inspires.but......
    i'm happy to take your advice that this was more than likely user error.

    thanks for the replies i shall update!
     
  9. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Remember, that there are separate updates for just the Inspire and the Inspire Pro. Each craft has its own page for these firmware updates.
     
    Figbar and crystalfat like this.
  10. Sndguy1

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    16
    Can you elaborate a bit on the reasons you like the X3 better on your OSMO?... Are you referring to the quality of video, how it handles movement, etc.?
    Thanks!
     
  11. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
     
  12. andrew259

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    85
    Im always surprised to read about all the update issues... I've never had an issue with upgrading. (I've had issues with certain versions - but not the upgrade process).
    The latest version seems good!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Kilrah and crystalfat like this.
  13. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    Just after I wrote that I've never had any firmware update issues, I seem to be experiencing one. I just updated my I
    I just downloaded firmware from the zenmuse x5 page for my Inspire 1 that I'm using with the X5. I This is the file I downloaded.

    WM610_FC550_FW_V01.03.00.60.bin

    It went through the process as usual, and I got the proper beeping sounds indicating the process was finished. I checked the text file on the disk that was generated and got this message...


    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:11 remo-con disconnect======
    Packet: WM610_FC550_FW_V01.03.00.60.bin
    Upgrading ...
    Result: Success.

    When I turn everything on...rc first, then the craft, then my DJI GO app...which I just updated today...my GO APP comes up as usual...I'm able to go to my library, etc...but when I select camera...the APP just closes.

    I don't have the Inspire Pro...I have an Inspire with the X5.

    Not sure what the issue is? Did I download and install the incorrect firmware?

    Thanks for you help!
     
  14. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,720
    Likes Received:
    3,872
    Completely uninstall the app and then reinstall it. That 'should' solve the issue (I hope)
     
  15. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    Thanks...I've read throught this thread and now remember that this was an issue and a fix...will try this. Very much appreciated.
     
  16. Figbar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    166
    That fixed the problem. Thanks again. I love this forum!


     
    Dr_Dooms and The Editor like this.
  17. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,720
    Likes Received:
    3,872
    Glad it worked. :)
     
  18. marg2

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    29
    Editor what is the transcoding tool software and dji cleanser??? No where to find info for it thsnks
     
  19. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,720
    Likes Received:
    3,872
    The transcoding tool transcodes the mpeg4 video files from the Inspire into Apple ProRes 10bit 4:2:2 format (if you need it)
    The DNG Cleaner tool makes up for some photo editors inefficiency in reading .dng files and cleans up the coloured dots you may see in the image (especially in dark areas or uniform coloured areas).
    Neither tool is necessary unless you actually have a use for it.

    Hope that helps. :)
     
    marg2 likes this.
  20. marg2

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yes Thank U have a great new yr