Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

DJI Go App freaks out while flying Inspire Pro x5

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by GizaDog, Jan 3, 2016.

  1. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Not sure if anyone else is experiencing this but I've seen a few times where the app will cycle through or keeps refreshing (record button, the camera when either trying to take a photo and sometimes after starting to record video). I loose access to all camera settings (see below Safe to Fly) and the start and stop button makes the noise as if its starting and stopping. It eventually returns to normal after about 30 seconds and I do retain all flight controls through the whole process. I've discovered that no recording is taking place when its freaking out.

    Yes I uninstalled the app and reinstalled it. I'm still trying to troubleshoot the cause but it might be related to buggy software. (App Version 2.4.3)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    3,863
    Have you checked:
    The gimbal contact pins to ensure none of them are bent (even very slightly)?
    Tried another USB lead?
     
  3. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Its a brand new unit so the pins should not be an issue. Also experienced the same issue on a regular inspire with a different cable that we know works.
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    3,863
    Not seen this - do you have Hardware Decode set the same on both? I would try both on and off.
    I actually leave mine on using an Air 2 iPad as I think it improves latency slightly.
     
  5. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    It started with Hardware Decode enabled. So I did some research and it said to disable that. So both options give me the same result.
     
  6. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    3,863
    Hmmmmm...not seen or heard of this before (other than the known uninstall/install fix for the app bombing out).

    Something strange going on with your setup as otherwise I think a lot of people would be shouting since many run the iPad Air 2 (myself included).
     
  7. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Yeah not sure what the problem is. Guess I'm special. :rolleyes:
     
  8. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    The issue Im having is the gimble is not level with the horizon when I take off. I always have to adjust it. Have you seen that before?
     
  9. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    3,863
    Only from a badly calibrated IMU. Some aircraft can do with a little 'help' with a shim on one side or the other (a few sheets of paper) as the surface you are calibrating on maybe level but the Inspire isn't!
    You can usually tell if this is the case as the aircraft can drift slightly in P-Atti with no wind always in the same direction. If that happens shim on the opposite side and recalibrate.
     
  10. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Where is the IMU calibration option now. I can not find it.
     
  11. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,705
    Likes Received:
    3,863
    MC settings/sensors. Bottom of page.
    Do it from a cold machine, not one that's been on for a while.
     
  12. GizaDog

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thats where it went. Thanks.

    Here is the video that I started and the app freaked out. Recording stopped.

     
  13. Droider

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Every Holiday Inn in the UK!
    Make sure your lens locking ring is fully engaged.