Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

DJI Pilot for iPad using old maps

Discussion in 'DJI Go App' started by Keith barrow, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. Keith barrow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Attached is a message I sent to DJI complaining that they are using outdated maps on the iPads.
    Needless to say they never got back to me with an answer.

    I have the DJI Ground Station App that uses the same outdated maps.
    I also have an Android tablet, but that uses Google Maps.

    I'm not sure what maps DJI Pilot for iPad uses, but it is not Google and not Apple Maps by TomTom.
    Does anyone have an idea how to update the maps?

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    3,888
    Its not a DJI issue its an Apple issue so you will not get any joy from DJI.
     
    Kilrah likes this.
  3. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    That's odd that the Pilot app would have different maps to the Apple maps app on the iPad. I wonder why. I always assumed that Pilot just used the built in Apple maps.

    Maybe Apple only allow the latest map info in the official maps app or something?
     
  4. Keith barrow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am not sure of that... the pilot and GS app has to point to a specific map, not just what the iPad tells it to. The question is what map is that and how can I get the DJI apps to point to the Apple or Google maps
     
  5. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    The app uses the iOS map API, so basically it just tells it "display a map of that location". Everything beyond that is handled by the system.
    Here the DJI app and Apple maps show exactly the same, hugely outdated views. And what was loaded in Apple maps first shows up instantly in the DJI app without having to load, confirming both use the same set/cache.
    Note that the choice of satellite/hybrid/standard may sometimes show different things for the same places... those are separate sets and also cache separately.
     
    PB30X and The Editor like this.
  6. Merko

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    29
    I have spoken to DJI and they are thinking about a option to choose Google Map on the iOS. Time will tell. :)

    Don't care too much now that Apple have updated the maps in my area.. Few months ago all was black \ white. :(
     
  7. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Apple had a falling out with Google a few years ago if anyone who cares or could remember. Apple no longer uses Google Earth. In fact I believe they tried their own route, and ventured in with Bing or possibly their own. Either way maps are not "updated" on a daily basis.
     
  8. Tolga

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    so still have the same problem here. ios maps are too old. any suugestions?
     
  9. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    We are stuck with the available Apple Maps. Neither they nor Google Maps are regularly updated and some coverage can be years out of date. I fly regularly over the mouth of the River Spey in Scotland which 'moves' due to coastal drift and map is up to 300m out on the current position of the mouth. Similarly, new housing developments may not be picked for years to come. The maps are just a guide and should be treated as such. The trick is to maintain visual line of sight with your I1 at all times.
     
    #9 Scotflieger, Jul 8, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2015
    The Editor likes this.
  10. Keith barrow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree that we need to maintain LOS when flying, but I still think that we should be given the choice to use Google Maps on iOS devices....it is still far superior to the Apple Maps or whatever DJI Pilot is accessing and I can't believe it is that difficult for DJI to do.