Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

DJIGO App shuts down

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by Highrpm955, Dec 18, 2015.

  1. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    I fire up the RC/AC... Tap the Go App, it gets to the "connect camera" screen, I tap it, I get a busy wheel, then it kicks out to my home screen (of my iPad). Any ideas? I've tried different batteries, restarting the iPad several times.
     
  2. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    Backup up flight records, deleted app, reinstalled, all is well.
     
    Donde80 likes this.
  3. Arriguy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I'm having this exact problem. Just started an hour ago as of this writing as I was preparing for a flight to shoot stills over Centennial Olympic park tonight. Restarted iPhone, deleted and reloaded app., changed cables, nothing has solved it yet.
     
  4. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Same here, had to re-install, FFS you'd thought after nearly a yr DJI would of got it sorted. :rolleyes:
     
    Highrpm955 likes this.
  5. Arriguy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    A little more info, the RC is connected to the A/C fine because I can start motors and tilt the camera but it won't enter camera mode. Also changed to iPad, same issue.
     
  6. Arriguy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Even more info... I have a second controller so I linked the A/C and all seemed to be going well. I went to camera view, saw the image, checked mod values, everything fine, initiated an auto takeoff, the props started but experienced a loss of signal message before leaving the ground. couldn't stop the motors because of the loss of signal and had to do a hard shutdown at the battery. Needless to say tonight's flight is now cancelled. Maybe tomorrow I'll do another firmware upgrade to see if there's any change, if not I guess it's off to DJI for the 3rd time in a year. Thinking it might be time to sell this thing and move on.
     
    #6 Arriguy, Dec 19, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2015
  7. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    Hmmm... Interesting. For what it's worth, I've done 300+ flights, and this is the first real issue I've had with it. Hope you get it sorted out. I just tested connection on the bench, I'll try a test flight tomorrow and make sure it's all good. Too windy here right now!!
     
    #7 Highrpm955, Dec 19, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2015
  8. Crashnot

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    +1
    This only happened after installing Go app 2.4.3
    Doing what Highrpm955 said fixed the problem
    iOS 9.2 iPad Air
    Thank you Highrpm955.
     
    #8 Crashnot, Dec 19, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2015
  9. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    I'm going to call it the "Go Ape" now. :D
     
    Blue Bird and Donde80 like this.
  10. douglas.brownlie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    35
    I was out flying yesterday with no problems. Tonight I encountered the problem described in this thread. With no wifi available out in the field I called it quits. Came home and deleted the app. Reinstalled and it works perfectly again. Thanks Highrpm955 for the info. I'm guessing my iPad updated the app automatically yesterday after returning home.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Highrpm955 likes this.
  11. Yt2

    Yt2

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have the same issue with an Android Galaxy S2. I can connect and fly with no issues, but if I try and record video, it Freeze's then gives me the blue screen of death, then reboots. I have deleted the GO app, but still the same.
     
  12. Donde80

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Had the same thing happen. Thanks Highrpm955! What you recommended worked!
     
    Highrpm955 likes this.
  13. captain jim

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Last week things were fine. Now today I am having the same problem. The transmitter is connected to the A/C. I tap the camera icon, the "wheel" shows for a second then the app closes. I tried the same for the simulator and the app closes there. I have not updated the latest firmware however the ipad has been connected to the web. Correct me if I'm wrong. Several folks have fixed the problem by deleting the app and reinstalling it.
     
    #13 captain jim, Dec 30, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
  14. captain jim

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Deleted it and installed.....fixed!!!
     
  15. Nick Nicholson

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Winston Salen NC
    Same problem here after flying for over an hour yesterday with no issues. Deleted the app and downloaded again and voila, worked like a charm.
     
  16. Arriguy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Part of my situation has been resolved with the reset controller instructions that can be found as a sticky in the help section. My second controller still won't reset so its off to DJI. At least I am flying again with one controller.
     
  17. Yt2

    Yt2

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have deleted the Go app twice on my Android Galaxy S2 and formatted the micro SD card. Still crashes when turning on to record video. Getting annoyed now. Need other suggestions!
     
  18. Arriguy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Try the controller reset as seen in the top sticky, then reload the firmware. That's what worked for me.