Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Drone deploy vs. Map made easy

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Aerialmotion, Feb 18, 2016.

  1. Aerialmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering if anyone here has used map made easy. It appears to do everything drone deploy does. It also seems to offer a more economical price point.

    I will test both, however I'm looking for input from those with experience using both products.

    Thanks
     
  2. pixl45

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    SW Ontario Canada, Upstate NY
    My research indicates a much wider array of services from Drone Deploy, but they really come at a price. They seem to be geared to volume industrial clients. Particularly in the AG space, there is the most buzz about them.
     
  3. Aerialmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, have you worked with both products? Just wondering from a software point do they both work well with the dji go app for setting up your waypoints etc...
     
  4. Outta Control

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Right Above You
    Photogrammetrics is the up and coming industrial solution and I expect there will be some serious competition within this and next year.

    Being so, Drone Deploy seems to be the only one that actively listens to their customers especially us Beta users.
     
    Djeszelda likes this.
  5. John Alan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Central IL - USA
    I have used Maps Made Easy app and like it... Have done one 63 pic/ 8+acre test run... they processed...
    I flew a quick hop with DJI Go App to be sure my UAV was good... landed...
    Killed Go and loaded the MME app with the plan saved already...
    Hit start... it Autotakeoff'd... flew the pattern snapping pics... did a Return to Home... snapped one more pic at touchdown (MME uses for reference on altitude against master)... then said done...
    I just watched as it did all that...

    TestMap1

    The above is a public version... what I can see/get is more in depth...
    Be sure to click the icon upper right and select the elevation version...

    And I think MME is cheaper then DD... from what I have seen...
    Have not used Drone Deploy yet... the price scared me to try MME first...
    I have plans to do some more areas this weekend and see how they turn out...
     
    #5 John Alan, Feb 18, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2016
  6. Aerialmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's great, thank for the info. Once I get some decent weather I will give MME a try.

    Please share your results if you don't mind after further testing. This weekend isn't looking very flyer friendly for me. I would be mainly using the service for NDVI processing.

    I just ordered the OSMO so I can get the black camera instead of the white X3 and ordered a NDVI lens to do a lens swap. I will make use of the OSMO handle with the X5 when adapter is ever released. I have the pro black edition so I don't want a white X3 camera hanging off it :)
     
  7. John Alan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Central IL - USA
    I will share a few more... once I do more...;)

    I am in the middle of changing all my X3 camera lenses right now...
    Have 3 units... changing all three with IRpro 4.35mm (72* fov replacements)
    Did the RGB version last night... and started the IR (730nm up) one...
    Leaving the NDVI-7 for last... as it cost the most $$...

    I too am going to be doing a lot of NDVI surveys this year...
    The just bought Matrice (see sig) is going to be tasked for this use... Dual battery and X3 setup
    Use MME app and let er rip... :)
     
  8. Aerialmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's great sounds like you are off to the races full tilt.

    I went and ordered the 4.35mm from peau so I am hoping the quality is there. I will be mainly doing NDVI images for full crop cycles throughout the season from bud break to leaf fall.

    It will be nice to have the matrice added to your fleet I'm sure. My areas are not overly large in nature and can run them will single batteries.
     
  9. southerndoug

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
    I have been using MME for a few months now on test flights, up to 10 hectares. Very happy with the results and the speed of processing. Price is good too. Will be interested to see how you guys go, especially with the Matrice.
     
  10. seanmclean

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    83
    I use the MME app for capture, but since I don't need any of the advanced processing, I just let photoshop stitch it together. This is a 23acre plot. Captured in about a nine minutes flight at an altitude of 60m.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Aerialmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hope to give a whirl this weekend. Your capture must be for a insurance purposes? I hope it's not your property...
     
  12. Phatzo

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Hungary
    PS can stitch??? pleSe share info on pluging or how to :)
    thanks.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. seanmclean

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    83
    It's built-in. Open all the photos that you want to merge. Then go to File>Automate>Photomerge, and add all the open files.
     
  14. seanmclean

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    83
    Just a local redevelopment project. Tearing out the old and building new.
     
  15. Jeremy Kern

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    We currently use mme for our company while it does work we do see a lot of issues with the ca,era not connecting and have to restart the app. Also a lot of problems. With it just stopping taking photos. One of my personal biggest complaints is that here where it's cold it does not go off the percent of battery it just has a programmed time. I had a battery go to 30 percent and it kept flying at 20 same thing. So you have to be on top of it.
     
  16. Aerialmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that info ecspecially the battery monitoring. I am in a cold climate also. I assume you are using the most current version of app?
     
  17. Jeremy Kern

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes we have the most updated version. Don't get me wrong it does work pretty well. But there's still quite a few bugs in it. I just bought drone deploy to try. I have a shoot next Monday and can let you know how it compares.
     
  18. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    I only use MME. much more cost effective. DD went off the deep end with their pricing....
     
  19. Aerialmotion

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would be great!
     
  20. John Alan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Central IL - USA
    Agreed... playing with it today it's a bit buggy at times... (is latest version with I1 pro additions)

    40+ acre 2 battery survey, 240 pic plan...
    It missed 71 pics... just did not take them... working to figure out why now...
    I could see the app not taking pics at times... looking at output to confirm now...
    Count and timestamps confirm an est 71 missing... as in never taken...
    Squarish area ended up with hourglass shaped coverage... first glance...

    Also... did not stop at right point to switch batteries... had to force it to do so...

    I would call this app... midlife beta... not something to trust at this time...
    With a bit of work... it would be fine... just fix the bugs...
    Has worked fine on two small plans... big plans not so much...
     
    #20 John Alan, Feb 21, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016