Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Dual Transmitter Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CMS, Jul 20, 2016.

  1. CMS

    CMS

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    I looked around and did not see a answer to this question. Here's what I would like to do. I know that we can use a dual slave radio that allows for a camera operator but is it possible to take that slave radio and plug it in to a monitor/tv away from the pilot so that someone can observe the video feed. This setup would only be to observe and not to operate. Of course the pilot would also need to maintain full operation and camera visibility while flying. If it can't be done I would suggest that DJI adds this into the next firmware update. If you were lucky enough to own a second radio it would completely eliminate the need for a 3rd party downlink.
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Yes, just enable simultaneous output to HDMI on the slave remote as well. Then plug your monitor into the HDMI socket on the slave.
     
  3. CMS

    CMS

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, thanks. Next question will be how far away from the master radio can the slave radio be or is the video downlink from the bird coming straight to the slave radio. I would think that if the video downlink is coming straight from the copter then distance proximity to the master radio would not be a factor.
     
    #3 CMS, Jul 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2016
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    The video downlink comes straight from the aircraft however, slave operation (which depends on a 5.8ghz link) is limited to 50m line of sight from the master.
    I have not tried it beyond this or out of range of the master.
     
  5. CMS

    CMS

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Roger that. Let the testing begin....Thanks for the help.
     
  6. Hugh4G

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    London/Sussex
    Ahh, thank you Editor...

    I've been thinking that it was simply that 5.8ghz was weaker... I've been photographer on the end of a link that was up to 120 metres high, and the slave video link was decidedly flakey. Yesterday we were shooting in Woolwich and the signal wasn't excellent at 35 metres up.

    I've been thinking about getting an Itelite signal boosting kit. Although I'm not convinced it will work in an area with lots of extra RF that you get in congested areas.

    Any up to date insight would be helpful....

    Hugh