Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Extreme FLICKER in INSPIRE 1 4k footage

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Drone GUY Vancouver, Mar 10, 2015.

  1. Drone GUY Vancouver

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone, DJI support is saying 'we don't see the flicker', can you watch the UNLISTED youtube link below and tell me if you see a flicker?

    8 people at my office can see it.

    This was filmed manual mode, 4k, the clip was not compressed in any way before posting

    Is this the standard of footage I should expect? It is simply not useable

    UNLISTED YOUTUBE LINK BELOW - Flicker Footage
     
  2. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    What I see most is the ugly youtube compression... Any way to post the original file?
     
  3. Drone GUY Vancouver

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. dcbrewer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    11
    I've experienced that in my raw footage too. There were moving clouds above causing it on the day I was filming.
     
  5. johnmont250

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    100
    grass is one of the toughest things to record, lots of detail, and when you have cloud shadows moving on the grass its a lot for a camera, plus the forward motion of the camera,I have some similar footage.
    i think we are seeing the limits of the camera, but it looks like it was shot in auto. you might get better results in manual mode with a 180deg shutter log color, -2 color, -2 contrast.
     
  6. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    PA
    Just downloaded and watedch it. I can see in thru the entire video, its at its worse from 18 to 20 second mark
     
  7. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    That would be the auto exposure adjusting... well exposure, in relatively big steps because the scene brightness varies a lot.
    You'd indeed want to lock exposure or go full manual in such a scenario.

    Maybe made more apparent by the 24p framerate too.
     
  8. enkhome

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    UNLISTED YOUTUBE LINK BELOW - Flicker Footage
    [/QUOTE]
    It s by the limitation of the camera systeem (codec). if you lower the speed of movement the footage will be much better.
     
  9. Rafa

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    How/where do you guys adjust the shutter angle on the camera? Are you just setting the shutter speed to 1/50th?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  10. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
  11. Helnet

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    Have you tried with a nd filter?
     
    EMCSQUAR likes this.
  12. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes in fact I got the hole collection of ND 8,16,32,64 in my tests I ended using the ND16 to get the shutter at 50 and with 25fps problem persists
     
  13. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,457
    Likes Received:
    1,631
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  14. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    Why convert to pro res. file is only so big. What is the advantage of using this tool, Dji transcoding tool