Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Finally pulled the trigger a few questions

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Riverboata, Aug 27, 2015.

  1. Riverboata

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Finally bought the I1 not had it off the ground as yet just been on the simulator.

    Just a few questions
    1 where do I find the mod values in the go app?
    2 after flying the simulator for 20 minutes, I removed the camera which seemed to be very hot is this normal?

    Any other tips before I get the I1 off the ground would be much appreciated.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    354
    1. under Sensors
    2. yes

    Sorry for the short answer, going to sleep now.
     
    CaptainBadge likes this.
  3. msinger

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    95
    Here are some handy tips:

     
    Spool and Busch like this.
  4. JayVapes

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Test out your return to home functions...will save u from panicking when u lose comms. I don't like safe return home myself
     
  5. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    After the simulator, make sure you set beginner mode for your first few flights (30m dist/30 m height) and find a nice open field or park clear of trees and people. The I1 is easy to fly but it is very easy to become over confident. See how the wind affects turns and stopping. Enjoy!
     
    Busch likes this.
  6. FangsCPO

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA
    I'm not a fan of beginner mode simply because you can't drop out of GPS and go into ATTI mode should you have an issue with your GPS. Good Luck!!
     
    turbodronepilot and Kilrah like this.
  7. Riverboata

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Many thanks for your replies, I have updated the firmware on the craft, rc and battery's.

    Also done a IMU calibration mod values look ok, just waiting on the winds to ease off and get out for the madden flight!
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  8. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    Have you ever flown a multi before?
    the best advice I can give is to learn how to fly on another platform if you havent.........
    somethign like a WL toys v262,,, that will get you about 10 hours of flight before the motors burn out, but shoudl be enough to learn to fly. plus they crash quite well unlike the inspire and they dont have altitude hold or GPS. so the inspire will be a breeze after.
     
  9. Riverboata

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes had the phantom 2 and the vision+ so plenty of hours with these machines, but looking at the I1 it's in a different league!
     
  10. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    You'll be fine then , just learn to fly without GPS if you havent already and learn the process of switching to ATTI.
    make sure your mod values are good before takeoff, make sure your channels are clean, battery of ok, and enjoy.
     
  11. Riverboata

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Another question with regards to the home point, will the I1 get its home point prior to take off?

    How do you set the dynamic home point when it's in the air?
     
  12. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    The Home Point (HP) is set at the point you start the motors. You set the Dynamic HP is set through the GO app using the RC GPS receiver. This relies on the front panel (by antenna) having a clear view of the sky so may need to be lifted up.
     
  13. Riverboata

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Many thanks will make sure antenna is lifted, can you tell me where in the GO app you set the dynamic HP if I need it?
     
  14. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    The bottom lefthand button allows you to set the HP to the aircraft or RC position.
     
  15. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    354