Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Finally saying "hello"..

Reaction score
Hey All..

100% new beginning drone pilot and Inspire 1 (v2) owner..

Yup, dove right in and bought the I1 after experiencing a 1st flight fly away of my Hubsan X4 straight up and out, lost forever..and that was it..I made the decision right then..I'm getting an Inspire!..lol

I've always loved flying..My father was a professional pilot all his life, including some crop dusting and a stint in the USAF flying left seat in B-17's and even some time in the 29's..He retired at 63 flying Jetstars for Readers Digest out of Westchester, NY..I started learning myself at 15, taught by my father in my cousins Cessna 172..I accrued about 30 hrs flight time until my father pulled the plug..It took me many years to find out why and he finally revealed.."your sense of direction was not good"...WTF? isn't that genetic?..lol
Anyway, at 56 I'm flying again, still with the same innate sense of direction but with much better flight information to bolster my lack of whats up and whats down.. : )

I've been searching for newbie questions and finding most of the answers..Off the top of my head, I guess I'm still not sure about the proper RTH/ failsafe altitude, thinking its prolly best just to set it at 400 ft (120m) and leave it..Its always better going up so why try and guess the height of everything around you..I'm also disappointed with the gimbal, trying to get used to not being able to manipulate it smoothly..I'm a photographer as hobby with a really loaded Canon 7d setup, so somewhat spoiled I must say..I'm already thinking I'll have to go X5 in the future.. but with the gimbal, It seems the best flow will be achieved with a 2nd remote and a humanoid to go with it..I still haven't figured out the difference between "follow" and "FPV"...lol