Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Flights above 400 feet

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by bbellfly, Jul 26, 2015.

  1. bbellfly

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have a request to take a photograph of 300+ acres and 400 ft will not get it in the shot.... Anyone with experience above 400 ft please give input and tips..... It's in a rural area, very little to no air traffic bellow 5000 ft most well above.....
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  2. DronePilot

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    7
    The Inspire is limited to 500M AGL in current App / firmware.
     
  3. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Not sure on your location and needs but also had similar situations in remote locations in valleys/gorges and such. Remember it is your responsibility! Not going to get into specifics as I find this rule to be "unfair" (Remote Areas-No Air Traffic) to those who do fly responsibly and respect airspace.

    But this is a reference chart...

    FEET to METER REFERENCE

    400ft@122m
    800ft@244m
    1000ft@305m
    1200ft@365m
    1310ft@400m
    1500ft@457m
    1640ft@500m
     
    JamesSpringPilot likes this.
  4. bbellfly

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Understand the 500 meter limit..... But looking to go above 400 feet for first time..... Just nervous with the investment doing it..... Was looking for tips from anyone who has done it...... I know, chicken.....lol
     
  5. huppe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    317
    No problems when you go higher.Have tested 1000ft(300mtr).So going to the max should be no problem.Just for your information,when I did test this it was very remote area and this was not illegal.But 99,9% I never go more then 400ft(122 mtr)
     
  6. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Isn't the I1 locked to 400ft max when in the USA now?
     
  7. bbellfly

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Always want to be thought of as responsibly pilot..... But need shot for property map......
     
  8. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    You don't say under which national rules you are operating and whether you have clearance/permission to operate.

    First of all, with the I1's 12Mpixel camera I am not sure that will get any useful detail. Have you considered running a number of tracks at 120m and stitching the images together in Photoshop.

    Alternatively, contact you area ATC and discuss the possibilities. If the are no airspace restrictions then you could post temporary NOTAM with your required height requirements.
     
    LAP, WTAPV, Propnose and 1 other person like this.
  9. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Not sure but it still has 500m option..
     
  10. bbellfly

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    USA, sorry....!! Both valid points.... Not nessesarily looking for great detail, only general layout and ability to draw property lines.... But stitching is a good alternative.......
     
  11. jmp470

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    12
    How can it be limited to 400 or 500 ft? What happens if you are a pilot and use an icom hand held for traffic in the area? Just make radio calls like a normal airplane and call it good.
     
  12. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    [​IMG]
    Main Controller Settings you can adjust your limits.. As for using a HAM radio you need to be licensed to operate.. I agree, but not everyone is licensed in amateur radio
     
  13. bbellfly

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    The I1 preset ceiling is120m, FAA rules limit RC aircraft to 400 ft... Not sure what you are referring to with radio, but joeblow is not allowed on ATC frequencies.... In the USA...
     
  14. jmp470

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    12
    As a licensed pilot, I can get on a hand held radio and fly an ultra-light is Class D airspace with no issues. So why can I not fly a quad with a hand held?
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  15. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Because you can't be seen by other aircraft (until its too late).
     
    james tulloch likes this.
  16. jmp470

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    12

    You are correct, if you are flying FPV, but if you are on the ground and have LOS on the quad, why not then? At a few of the ultralight airfields here near San Antonio, we often have RC airplanes in the pattern also. It just so happens that the RC pilots are also PPL or above too.

    I understand why people want RC pilots to get licensed, knowledge of airspace and the ability to communicate with others is key. I guess they can turn the recreational pilot (which failed miserably) into RC pilot.
     
  17. PB30X

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I concur, totally agree with COMMUNICATIONS in general wether it be handheld or a transmitting 2-4 nautical miles beacon.. It's very appropriate considering the danger one doesn't know or is unaware of such as MEDFLIGHTS or any inbound AC
     
  18. theheliguy

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ummm.. Well as per the current COA that accompanies all 333 now from the FAA for commercial UAV operations there is a requirement to make all applicable radio calls.

    If everyone continues to break the rules then as a group we can't complain when the rules get more strict.

    Here is another idea, find a local guy with a Cessna, do it old school and stay legal.
     
    andydallas and PB30X like this.
  19. slim.slamma

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    nyc, ithaca
    Yes its locked to 400 ft & not an inch higher
    Please leave it that way
     
  20. bbellfly

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Think I'm going to court house and get satellite image of property in question..... Thanks all for your comments and input....