Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Flying I1 lower than take off point...

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Pietro Avolio, Sep 28, 2015.

  1. Pietro Avolio

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey guys/gals. Has anyone ever tried to fly the I1 lower than the take off point? The shot I'm trying to do is from a cliff. If I take off from the cliff and fly the I1 down below, will I lose signal? Is it safe to try?

    Thanks
     
  2. FangsCPO

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA
    I can't see it being an issue as long as you have LOS....but that would be a guess at this time. Anyone??
     
    Pietro Avolio likes this.
  3. LockMD

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    136
    Yup just keep LOS and all should be good, don't panic when altitude shows negative number as 0 will be take off spot.
     
    Pietro Avolio likes this.
  4. Pietro Avolio

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    LockMD, I take it that you have tried this? =)
     
  5. tbarnesarc

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Laguna Beach, CA
    I do it all the time. As others have stated just keep LOS and you'll be fine.
     
    Pietro Avolio likes this.
  6. LockMD

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    136
    Not personally, but seen MANY others do it. I have height issues (LOL) if I was to stand next to a cliff I'd probably fall off haha
     
    DodgeP likes this.
  7. Pietro Avolio

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    HA HA. I'm the same. This is the cliff I plan on flying it off of. Below is the Sacramento River and no ground to take off from. Looking forward to trying it out.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    That doesn't look too extreme but you might want to practice some before your shoot so you can get used to it..
    judging distance and hight can be tricky when flying below your take off point..
    Turbo. ...
     
  9. Mike Ellgood

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Dorset UK
    I have done it of of cliff tops and yes its awkward to guage where you are.. but no signal issues

    about 55 secs in so you don't have to watch my crappy video

     
    #9 Mike Ellgood, Sep 28, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2015
    Arriguy likes this.
  10. Kauaigene

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    96
    Can anyone explain how the official term for "Loss of Signal"....i.e. LOS. has become something else complete on this forum? Just curious.
     
  11. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    It must be secret code,because I thought it meant line of site..lol..
     
  12. Pietro Avolio

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yea, I'm understanding it as Line of Sight. That's a big difference. HA.
     
  13. tbarnesarc

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Laguna Beach, CA
    VLOS technically but whatever, you got the the point. haha! I shoot surfing like that all the time and it works fine being lower than your home point.
     
    Pietro Avolio likes this.
  14. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    I have read somewhere about a RTH issue when at a negative altitude, it seemed that if the safe height was set to 20m for example and you are at -21 that the craft ignored the - symbol and thought it was above safe AGL,

    I DO NOT know if this was confirmed as a problem, and or if it was fixed in recent firmwares.

    Just posting to make you aware that it might be a problem, I am not confirming that it is.
     
  15. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    I try not to go by hearsay and rumour. If I don't know I test it. So I flew a dedicated test flight this morning and the answer is:

    With FW 1.4.0.10 and the aircraft flying below the takeoff point and display a negative altitude (test to minus 5m) the aircraft will climb to the failsafe height and return when the RTH is initiated (manually or automatically on loss of RC signal).

    However, I did discover a change to the RTH logic that I had not seen before. I had the return altitude set to 30m. With the aircraft below 20m, the aircraft climbed directly to 20m with no heading change. It then turned to face the Home Point (HP) before climbing the failsafe height (30m in my case) and flying back. If the aircraft is above 20m with RTH is commanded, it turns towards the HP, climbs to 30m and then returns.
     
  16. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    good for you, I was simply letting the OP know that there was an issue mentioned with this in the past.

    Either way its good to know that they have fixed the issue (if it existed)
     
    Scotflieger likes this.
  17. wilkia61

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South East Kent
    I was flying by the White Cliffs of Dover last month. Launched from sea level and flew along cliffs. Lost GPS when flying within about 20m of the cliff, obviously due to a satellite blank out. Not a problem if you are OK with ATTI flying, and recognise the issue before Return to Home kicks in, but it is one to be aware of.
     
  18. m00se

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    137
    in that case it would just go into the landing sequence right ?
     
  19. wilkia61

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South East Kent
    Yes, but would ruin the film run. Lol
     
  20. djbuschini

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Lure NC & Florida
    Awesome shoot and liked the Enya music as well