Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

FW 1.2.0.50 - Do not update

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by Nils Blix, Dec 9, 2015.

  1. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
  2. Redford James

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Effectively if i pop this firmware back on the card - Inspire 1 Pro Firmware v1.1.0.40 and downgrade everything should be back to how it was pre the 1.2 upgrade.
     
  3. MrDrone

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    London, UK
    I cannot believe it!
    Then again, I don't usually update on the first month as these type of cockups tend to happen ...
     
    Djalma Ribeiro likes this.
  4. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    You who say that one should not upgrade, you must tell why we should upgrade, you sound like Armageddon. Get down on the ground and came to the matter
     
    Bryan Conover likes this.
  5. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    If you care to read my posts you would understand
     
  6. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    You write that there is a glitch in the firmware, that's all I can see. Can you explain what the problem is Mr. Blix! And where's your posts regarding this?

    I have upgraded inspire1

    App 2.4.2
    Aircraft 1.5.0.30
    RC 1.5.70
    Camera 1.2.0.50
    Has been out and tested and have not noticed anything Mr. Blix
     
    #6 airdrone, Dec 9, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2015
  7. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    Follow the link I have submitted in my post - this one
    DJI Forum|Inspire 1 Pro New Firmware V1.2.0.50
     
  8. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Wait. So the glitch is that they forgot to include the firmware in the firmware update???
     
    Bryan Conover and daringair like this.
  9. Paolo

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, this is really amazing. Yes, the upgrade doesn't work and they know it (DJI) but you can still download it and is still required when you turn on your bird.

    I really don't know what to do!!! I do not want to spend the night downgrading, which is the solution given by Ken, admitting there is an issue with the upgrade!!!

    Cazzo but this bird cost nearly like a small Fiat, if something goes wrong, actually a
    Little wrong with a car you can screw the brand to death!!!! Here we have continuous issues, problems but we continue to give money to these guys!!!!

    It is awful!
     
    Rainbowers likes this.
  10. Ezookiel

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Canberra - Australia
    Try reading the post - including following the link that was included! smh


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Bryan Conover likes this.
  11. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    UPDATE

    The FW 1.2.0.50 is fixed - you can download and install ( if you want )

    Edited:

    If you download it from the X5 section I am not sure it is updated ( the date is still the same )

    I downloaded it from the Inspire Pro section
     
    #11 Nils Blix, Dec 10, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2015
  12. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    105
    Are we sure? the date hasn't been updated on the firmware listing. Still shows 2015-12-09 would of thought it would of showed 2015-12-10 if they changed it today
     
  13. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    I am sorry Richard - should have mentioned that it is updated on the Inspire Pro section - not the X5 section.
     
  14. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    105

    So do you use that one if you are using an Inspire 1 with the X5 camera?
     
  15. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    105
    I don't even have a Inspire pro section in the support page. Just Inspire 1 and then X5 downloads.
     
  16. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    YES

    Inspire 1 Pro / RAW
     
  17. Richard Hurst

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    105
    So what firmware do you use if you are running the normal Inspire 1 with the X5 installed and not the X3??
     
  18. Nils Blix

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    26
    IMG_0015.PNG
    Here is my setup
    Inspire 1 with X5 connected



    I have installed the new 1.2.0.50 FW - but not tried it yet
     
    #18 Nils Blix, Dec 10, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2015
  19. x5yo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    67
    I updated, all it does is fix the camera issues which is a good thing.
    The next update will do some stuff to the craft and gimbal (which should have been in here) I think, so for now either update to this, or go back to .30.

    Its kinda odd these screw ups make it to their website though, this is the second failed update in a row and its not exactly hard to find these glitches.
    Still, as long as its resolved soon so I can test it over Xmas and get some nice snow shots all will be forgiven!
     
    #19 x5yo, Dec 10, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2015
  20. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    227
    So not only did they release a firmware update that 1) doesn't actually update the aircraft, and 2) contains a still-undocumented "glitch" in the camera firmware, they have no committed the cardinal sin of software release engineering. They have released two updates under the same version number.

    On the Inspire 1 Pro downloads page (Inspire 1 Pro / RAW), there is a link that says "Inspire 1 Pro Firmware v1.2.0.50". That's what it said yesterday. But today that link gets you a file called Inspire_1_Pro_Firmware_1210.zip, which implies that it is version 1.2.1.0, and not the advertised version 1.2.0.50.

    Unzip that file, and you will find a file called WM610_FC550_FW_V01.02.00.50.bin, the same name as in yesterday's update. But this file is 70,262,894 bytes, whereas yesterday's file with the same name was 70,262,770 bytes. So it does appear to be different.

    The punchline came when I tried to install this new .bin file: it refused to upgrade the camera firmware, because it was already running v1.2.0.50! Which is why you never ever ever ever release two different updates under the same version number.