Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Gimbal Modes

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by polylawman, Jul 7, 2015.

  1. polylawman

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    19
    I was flying this past weekend and attempted to change gimbal modes while in flight. I believe I took off in the Follow mode and it stayed that way the entire flight. Does anyone know for sure that one cannot change gimbal modes while in flight?
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,869
    Gimbal modes are freely selectable during flight. It would be pretty pointless if they were not since you would not be able to adjust for different shots etc whilst airborne.
     
  3. polylawman

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thank you for your response. I tried changing it with the onscreen buttons, but it would not change from Follow
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,869
    Would the app not respond or did it appear to change on the app but the gimbal would not change mode?
     
  5. gray52

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    52
    Why does it not stay on what you have selected when you reboot?
     
  6. polylawman

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    19
    When I selected a different gimbal button, it appeared to change in the app. The actual gimbal action did not change. I was hovering on my last battery about to land when I decided to change the mode and check it out, that's why I could not land, reboot and try it again.
    The next time I go fly, I will surely try to recreate
     
  7. World Media

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Kingston, Jamaica
    You can also program C1 and C2 buttons to switch between follow and free modes ( at least on the second controller!)
     
  8. mdomeny

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    50
    i had the same question in another thread... should be like the camera setting stayi g ghe way i left it... coukd that be forwarded to dji in case of enough requests??
     
  9. World Media

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Kingston, Jamaica
    it has a default mode so defaults to follow me mode upon restart.
    I personally think that this makes sense as when a pilot starts up and begins initial flight you really want regular pov from the camera. you then get oriented, line up your shot and set the camera settings and gimbal mode for that element of your flight.
    Free mode is only really useful when your filming something specific and dont want the yaw of the inspire to alter the framing.
    Most of us have C1 or C2 set to return the camera to centre for orientation POV purposes.
    I for one am ok with it defaulting even though I fly free mode most of the time.
     
  10. mdomeny

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    50
    i also use free mode only since i have an operator but sometimes forget to switch which is anoying at times to always switch after a battery swap...
    convinience... i am a comfortable person... the option should or could be there on which one is default at startup... that would be best... free for everyone to chose...