Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

GPS dropping

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Ronboy, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. Ronboy

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is anyone having problems with GPS dropping during flight? Until today I've had many great flights with my i1. Today I've flown 4 times and each time I started with full bars on GPS and shortly after getting airborne I'm losing all satellites and the ready to fly bar says "ready to fly no GPS" if I continue to fly the sattlite strength bar will change back and forth from GPS to no gps. Anyone have any ideas? I've got 4 years experience flying Droidworx hex and 3 different phantom models.
     
    TransArctic likes this.
  2. jonathnsmith

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    I had some issues with my GPS when the IMU wasn't properly calibrated but after it was within spec I haven't had a problem with it since.
     
  3. Ultra310x

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    44
    Are you using IOS or android APP ?
     
  4. NEJO/Wisconsin

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Milwaukee WI
    SAME PROBLEM here perfect flights until about 18 hrs ago!!
     
  5. Ronboy

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the response. I'm using IOS. This is a brand new issue for me. I will fly again tomorrow and see if it continues. The GPS signal strength indicator turns red with one red bar and intermittently switches back and forth between full white bars.
     
  6. Ronboy

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    IMU Was checked prior to each flight and is within spec's. Also have latest firmware. This occurred 4 times today and has never done this on previous flights. Thanks for the response.
     
  7. NEJO/Wisconsin

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Milwaukee WI
    I am using IOS Keep me updated and I will Let you know as well
     
  8. Steve is Inspired!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    30
    Suggest just leave it on the ground NO FLYING, lock on to all satellites on the ground and time how long they stay consent. See if you loose any over time or is it a false notice on the IOS app it self. I have been flying now every other day, short flights and did see some IOS issues loosing all video and telemetry data, then i reloaded the remote controller firmware in the controller via the Inspire Cam using the latest v.16 FW and calibrated the sticks and now the LIGHT BRIDGE seems to be 100% better. This is just a suggestion and a guess the reloading the remote controller firmware mite help whit your GPS issues, it's a guess. Since we have to relay on the APP for all internal Inspire 1 craft information, i keep thinking the remote controller has a ton or information to process and could be misleading us if something go's wrong with this controller in flight. Like the phantom, i have 4, i keep my eyes on the LED's telling me i have GPS lock... I also switched my Phantoms to the NAZA mode.

    Reason for just sitting on the ground and connecting to all the satellites is to see if there is a thermal issue with the GPS receiver over time. #1, #2, then see if the Remote is the cause. it's just my basic troubleshooting steps. Then is if fails, try to reload the latest v.16 FW into the remote controller, recalbrate the sticks and repeat the ground GPS test over time before flight.

    Let us know your success. Good luck!

    Steve
     
  9. Nickspire

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've had the same problem. I'll take off and then lose GPS for a few seconds. It seems to be ok when it reconnects but during the timeout period I get bad drifting. Luckily I've only been in open areas at the time. Seems to have just started recently.
     
  10. Steve is Inspired!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    30
    Do you see yellow flashing LED on the back of the Inspire 1 during the flight?
     
  11. DaBone

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Sweden
    Loosing GPS is a DJI-problem. Have it sometimes both on my Phantom 2 with Naza v2 and my hexacopter with A2.

    For the most part when it happens it´s in the beginning, when you have just lift of. Although it has been on the ground for a moment before lifting and have good GPS signal.
    I let them hover/driftin around for a while, then they regains the signal and everything is fine.
     
  12. Ronboy

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  13. Ronboy

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks DaBone
    I have flown many flights since reporting this problem. I also have owned and flown phantoms, Wookong M on a hexa and I'm building a new Droidworx hexa with A-2 Controler. GPS drop is not a big deal when flying in open areas, but can cause problems when flying in tight areas or to a new pilot who suddenly feels the craft is getting away. All we can do at this point is make everyone aware of this issue and hope DJI will work on it. Thanks again for the response.