Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

h.265

Reaction score
Dear Forum,

I'm very new to editing so please go easy if this is a silly question!

I understand that h.265 is able to capture more data of the image which will obviously produce a better looking video but until now i haven't been recording in it as YouTube doesn't seem to support it which is usually where my videos end up.

My question is, should i be recording in h.265 and then exporting in h.264 for optimum quality?

Thanks

The biggest problem with doing that is the workflow. You would probably have to convert the H.265 to another format for editing if you want decent performance, so it adds more time and trouble for questionable benefits.

I've only shot a little in H.265 for that reason, but the people I've seen compare it with H.264 have said they didn't see much difference. Maybe it's more noticeable under certain circumstances, but the real quality jump with the I2 comes with ProRes and RAW.

H.265 can definitely help with lowering file sizes while keeping similar quality, but DJI chose to record H.264 and H.265 at the same bit rate so you can't really get those space savings while shooting with the I2.

If you're interested in H.265 there's no reason not to try it out, but I think most people are sticking with H.264 on the SD card side for the moment.

Reactions: deltalimatango
The biggest problem with doing that is the workflow. You would probably have to convert the H.265 to another format for editing if you want decent performance, so it adds more time and trouble for questionable benefits.

I've only shot a little in H.265 for that reason, but the people I've seen compare it with H.264 have said they didn't see much difference. Maybe it's more noticeable under certain circumstances, but the real quality jump with the I2 comes with ProRes and RAW.