Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

HDR Bracketing?

Discussion in 'DJI Go App' started by Jenn348, Feb 10, 2015.

  1. Jenn348

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    59
    I have taken some really nice HDR photos with my inspire, but had to manually bracket the shutter or the ISO. Is there a programmable auto bracket feature buried in the software?
     
  2. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    i have not found it if there is.
     
  3. Jenn348

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    59
    Do you know how many stops it varies by?
     
  4. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    In Auto Mode the exposures from a 5 shot bracket

    F .. . SH ... EV ... ISO
    2.8 1/6 +0.31 737
    2.8 1/5 +0.97 876
    2.8 1/13 -0.34 935
    2.8 1/13 -1.0 593
    2.8 1/13 -1.66 376

    In Manual Mode the exposures from a 5 shot bracket

    F .. . SH ... EV ... ISO
    2.8 1/20 0.00 1600
    2.8 1/30 -0.7 1600
    2.8 1/13 +0.7 1600
    2.8 1/50 -1.3 1600
    2.8 1/8 +1.3 1600

    this test was inside, so thats why the iso is so high
     
    #4 Tahoejmfc, Feb 12, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2015
    crosby likes this.
  5. mrjuicebox

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    11
    so glad it does this!
     
  6. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    Here is my first good Sunset HDR Bracket Example. I used Adobe Bridge to select the images in the HDR group, >Tools >Photoshop >Merge to HDR Pro. I use just Exposure/Gamma correction when going from 32 bit to 8 bit in photoshop and converted to sRGB for proper web color handling prior to saving as jpeg.

    Here is a link to the 5 Shot bracket files from tonight, both the jpegs and DNGs straight from the Inspire Camera.
    www.jamescolephoto.com/INSPIRE/InspireSunsetBracketExample.zip
    153megs, 10 files

    Processed 5 shot file with Photoshop Merge to HDR Pro
    Tahoe test Hdr.jpg Tahoe test single.jpg
    This shot is a single frame from the bracket unprocessed, no HDR, just single exposure EV +1/3
     
    crosby and lrwskyfilms like this.
  7. Phatzo

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hi everyone, I am new to the inspire 1 and DJI not to mention to this forum.
    nice pictures. I am still discovering the bird... great to be here :) do you live in heaven? this is a really nice place... where is it at ? (if I may ask)
    rgds
    Martin
     
  8. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Leeds UK
    My only complaint with the inspire so far is that the manual is a bit sparse where photography is concerned. It took me ages to find out how to take burst and time lapse shots. Eventually found out how to do it by searching on Youtube.
     
  9. Tahoejmfc

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    46
    This is Kings Beach CA, Lake Tahoe
     
  10. thumpinhard

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    GUerneville Ca.
    really glad this is available..i will try this asap. i have been just moving the wheel to a click stop for bracketing.
     
  11. phantomknowledge

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Mossie --
    Would you post the addresses you found helpful?
     
  12. Dorian

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks for the 'reveal.' It would be nice to put together a full-featured, menu-by-menu controls card(s) that one could quickly thumb through. Just one more job I have no time for. : )
     
    crosby and JRP like this.
  13. Farnet

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dorian, that's an excellent idea...

    This is a learning curve for everyone, and we can all share learnt knowledge of the app... Maybe on a sticky?!?

    It is frustrating that there are so little instructions out there, so compiling our own would be fantastic.
     
  14. Dorian

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    12
    The trick would be laying it out so that the sheets visually represented the layers of access in the UI.

    One of the issues with iOS (and other) devices is that with limited screen space much of specific menu-legvel commands are hidden, and must be scrolled. This is why a well thought out/laid out set of sheets with all of the options succinctly displayed out would greatly aid memorization.

    For example, it too me a while to dig down in the Camera controls to actually find the Roll +/- controls. I might start compiling information from each menu item and see what I turn up wei
     
  15. Harry Nicholson

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    UK
    I DID NOT KNOW THIS
     
  16. greyhawkimages

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    Have you found any comprehensive sources for all this information. Like you, I don't have the time. I also don't have the expertise to be the source for this info. I know just enough to be dangerous.
     
    rosrob169 likes this.
  17. Extreme

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does this technique still work with new firmware. ?
    I've tried it on a android doesn't do anything
     
  18. AllanM

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    25
    It works on Ipad for sure. But does anyone know if you can vary the bracket EV (the amount each shot varies by from)? Defaults aren't enough in most situations
     
  19. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    3,871
    Yeah, there is a way but........it's a looooong time since I investigated this.
    So, you will need to experiment but basically....
    If you shoot in auto you get 1/3 stop bracket difference with each exposure. (I can't remember the order I'm afraid) but the usual +/- up to 2/3 for a 5 bracket sequence.
    If you switch to shutter priority (from memory) you will get 0.7 stop increment.
    Again, sorry but you will need to experiment and pull the shots up in PhotoChop/Light room and take a look at the metadata.
    It's the only way I know you can alter the increment.
    Hope that helps (kind of)