Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

IMU won't calibrate after crash

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by QuadGrandad, Jul 26, 2015.

  1. QuadGrandad

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Southern Pines, NC
    Crashed today due to pilot error. Hit a tree and bounced on its top. Battery popped out, camera popped off, and gimbal cables unplugged. Lost one rubber shock.
    Was able to get it back together, and fired it back up. Camera worked, had GPS, etc. I decided to calibrate the IMU just to be safe, and the calibration process stopped at 94% with the message that it moved and needed to be calibrated again.
    I've taken it apart, checked cables, etc., but continue to get the same results.
    At times, it will tell me that the IMU is okay, but no motor power and the red light remains solid.
    I can still get GPS, camera view, and can put the quad into travel mode.
    Any suggestions before I ship it back?
    TIA
     
  2. Gregg G

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    IMU damaged..they dont like being crashed.
     
  3. sexy international dj

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    It sounds like the imu is stuck at tilt limit mine had the same problem WOT hobbies fixed mine. I don't know how they fixed it but I herd them talking about resetting IMU range
     
  4. Deane Lyons

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    I was just wondering if you found out to sort your IMU issue?

    I seem to have exactly the same problem after a crash.

    Many thanks

    Deane
     
  5. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Check the cooling fan for a broken blade on the VPS, this can cause a vibration that prevents the IMU from calibrating successfully.
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  6. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    You beat me to the draw on that one aviator. .lol...
     
  7. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  8. Deane Lyons

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the rapid reply. There is a missing blade on the cooling fan on the main control module.

    What would be the fix for this, I didn't see an easy replacement option?

    Thanks

    Deane
     
  9. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I think it is a standard PC fan, you should be able to pick one up from your local PC Spares store..
     
  10. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    It's all gravy. .I'll let you slide on that one...:cool:
     
  11. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Again?? Nooooo
     
    Aviator likes this.
  12. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Always the Bridesmaid and never the Bride, LOL
     
  13. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    Location:
    Prather California
    Ya you're the most important guy on this site...
    good one....
     
  14. Deane Lyons

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that guys, so both of you are in agreement.

    I have the fan exposed now and wondering how it is secured in place. There are "bumps" on three of the corners but they don't seem to be covering any screws etc.
     
  15. Deane Lyons

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I managed to get it out but in is glued to a piece of the chasis which also has come out. I have the model of the fan but there does not seem to be an EXACT replacement. The closest I can find is
    MC30060V1-000U-A99 but the inspire uses
    MC30060V1-000C-A99 and the label has a red stripe no the green one which is sold.
     
  16. Deane Lyons

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well guys, I think you were spot on!
    I let it cool down and then switched it back on and did a calibration straight away but I stalled the fan blades. I thought it was going to fail again at the 94% mark but after a slight delay it jumped over it and finished it. YAY

    Now back to the task in hand of finding another fan. Or do you think the missing blade can be balanced out with building up some adhesive to counteract the missing weight?

    Thanks again guys
     
  17. Deane Lyons

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that. I already found this one but as I mentioned in the previous post the model number is "U" with a green label and the Inspire fan is "C" with a red label.

    Even though the volt and watt figures are the same. Do you know if this would be compatible?

    Thanks Deane.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    M = Motor Series
    C = Motor Type
    30 = Frame Size
    06 = Fan Thickness
    0 = 5VDC
    V = Bearing: Vapo
    -1 = Speed: High
    -000C = Customer Code
    -A99 = Function: Auto Restart

    I would say, Go for it..
     
  19. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    More Info..
     

    Attached Files: