Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Inspire 1, missing screw almost cause loss? (pics)

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by shanks, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. shanks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello pilots,

    Today I was flying as usual when I lost transmission signal to my camera. I brought it in immediately for inspection and the x3 was hanging down from the inspire by only 1 of the rubber pieces and two wires.

    So, two questions:

    1. Should there be a screw here?

    View without X3 mount, looking at the bright sliver hole in the middle.:

    Where the screw would be if the x3 mount was on:

    I believe this could have caused my camera x3 to almost fall off by way of the rubber pieces working their way out during flight. My inspire has a lot of flight hours and has been sent in one time for warranty repair for a loose arm on the left that also happened mid flight.

    2. If I try reconnecting the rubber pieces to the mount, plug the wires back in, and turn on the drone, the x3 operates fine except there is still no image transmission signal. I am able to operate and move the X3 camera from the controller, but there is no image signal.

    Has anyone had their camera disconnected like this before and had trouble fixing the image transmission?

    Would love to have this bird back in the air without having to send it in again.

    Regards,
     
  2. shanks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am trouble shooting everything I can find available online. I will reply quickly to any helpful citizens. thanks!
     
  3. GuiKoetz

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see any picture... just me?

    Enviado de meu SHIELD Tablet K1 usando Tapatalk
     
  4. shanks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    I see the images fine, I will try uploading them another way.
     
  5. jasonthomson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    Comes from the factory without a screw installed there. One does not go there.
     
    shanks likes this.
  6. shanks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Great, thanks!

    So the final question is my lack of image transmission signal. Like I already stated, it operates fine, I just can't see an image. Is this because something is broken or is there something I need to do to reconnect the camera?

    I made sure the wires are all connected securely but no luck.
     
  7. jasonthomson

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sometimes the pins get bent out of place were the camera is attached. If not the pins, search through the many threads on this issue and hopefully you will be able to find the solution. Many different solutions have worked for people. Seems to be a common problem.
     
  8. shanks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Not the pins, already checked the log file, hopefully I'll figure it out soon. Thanks!
     
  9. AeroMirage

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    56
    Remove the nose cone. The other end of the 2 cables connect in there. One of them is probably loose.
     
  10. shanks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    The camera is responding to the controller fine. Will removing the cone void my warranty?
     
  11. AeroMirage

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    56
    There are 2 cables. One controls gimbal the other is video. I don't think removing nose cone voids warranty. If it did, they would seal or mark the screws to indicate opening. (Look at the arms, there are labels over the screws to seal them)
     
  12. shanks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    I removed the nose and checked the cables. Everything is secure.

    I have tried thus far:

    -Restarting Inspire, remote, and ipad.
    -Connecting via Iphone.
    -Checking for bent or dirty pins.
    -Updating to most recent firmware.
    -Checking hidden logs for error codes.
    -Checking and securing wire connections on by camera mount.
    -Checking and securing wire connections behind nose.
    -As before, camera responds to remote control, but still no video in all cases.

    Here is the most recent log:


    [00006841]========== 2016.09.20 22:01:21. boot(15) ============
    [00006928]Packet [C:\WM610_FW_V01.09.01.30.bin] detected, card sn [0x81621634].
    [00006995]Packet upgrade start...

    [00007089]Packet checking...
    [00007206]Packet vlink 01.09.0130 <-> 01.08.0100.
    [00007288]Record vlink 01.09.0130 <-> 01.08.0100 (flow = 0).
    [00007360]Done.

    [00007428]Version checking[1]...
    [00007521][08 00][00] v2.14.9.42 -> v2.14.9.42
    [00007591][01 00][00] v2.65.5033 -> v2.65.5033
    [00007666][01 01][00] v2.65.5033 -> v2.65.5033
    [00007777][03 05][00] v34.1.0.5 -> v34.1.0.5
    [00007899][03 06][00] v2.4.20.18 -> v2.4.20.18
    [00007968][04 00][00] v1.29.0.92 -> v1.29.0.92
    [00008078][05 00][00] v3.0.6.2 -> v3.0.6.2
    [00008166][09 00][00] v3.0.0.4 -> v3.0.0.4
    [00008277][11 00][00] v3.9.0.0 -> v3.9.0.0
    [00008400][12 00][00] v1.11.0.0 -> v1.11.0.0
    [00008516][12 01][00] v1.11.0.0 -> v1.11.0.0
    [00008756][12 02][00] v1.11.0.0 -> v1.11.0.0
    [00008877][12 03][00] v1.11.0.0 -> v1.11.0.0
    [00009018][15 00][00] v1.1.2.0 -> v1.1.2.0
    [00009118][17 00][00] v1.1.0.8 -> v1.1.0.8
    [00009257][17 01][00] v2.0.1.6 -> v2.0.1.6
    [00009336][19 00][00] v1.0.8.96 -> v1.0.8.96
    [00011404]Packet upgrade cancelled at version checking.

    Would still love to figure this out.

    Any other ideas? I am running out of resources online.

    Edit: Being that the X3 was hanging from the Inspire, it's gotta be that something hit my drone. Perhaps a bird or something. I checked the video footage and there was nothing, and the drone was clear of any ground obstacles. The video is butter smooth until it just stops.

    I believe the problem here has to do with damage.
     
  13. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,879
    One (or more) of the cores in the the ribbon cable has probably fractured - try replacing both wires, they are readily available.
     
    ted35 and shanks like this.
  14. shanks

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks for everyone's feedback.

    Today I got the transmission signal working again. Tried several more things, including different SD cards, no SD cards, etc.

    What finally ended up working was un installing DJI GO and re installing the application.

    Viola.

    I still do not know how the camera came loose in the first place. Gave the I1 a test flight and everything seems fine, camera secure as well. Irregardless, I think some maintenance repairs are overdue so I will be ordering several replacement parts for the drone.

    Thanks again pilots!