Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Inspire 2 X4S for Survey Topo Maps

Reaction score
I'm a licensed land surveyor & certified pilot. I'm trying to decide on whether or not to purchase the Inspire 2 with X4S or the P4P. I need to do high accuracy (elevations within 0.05'-0.10') topographic mapping in order to calculate dirt volumes for payment. I have all of the equipment needed to set GCPs. I need to know if the Inspire 2 or P4P would be stable enough in 10-20 mph winds to get pics good enough for the accuracy I need? I'd prefer to use the cheaper bird if it can handle the wind.

Hello @Bourne2fly

I think you would find them both fairly stable in the wind...my bigger concern is the requirement to have an elevation consistent from roughly half an inch or an inch. For a non-RTK system that is not much room for error and not something you will be able to even visually see.

Lots of people use this type of equipment for the use you are describing, but I am not sure it can perform perfectly at the spec you have identified.

I thought the rtk just helped with the horizontal orientation of the site. Does the rtk help nail down the elevations as well? Do you think the M200 or 600 would meet the spec?

I have all of the equipment needed to set GCPs. I need to know if the Inspire 2 or P4P would be stable enough in 10-20 mph winds to get pics good enough for the accuracy I need? I'd prefer to use the cheaper bird if it can handle the wind.
If you already have gps for gap you can already make accurate point clouts etc - which software will you be interpreting data with ?

We went for the I2 which had a better wind profile (in my humble opinion compared to the P4 which we also have) - we went I2 so we could use the X5S which with the 12mm Olympus lens at 120ft can give less than 1cm/px ground resolution, that coupled with post processing gives 0-5cm accuracy at 98 per cent with PFO of that most points were within 1cm