Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Inspire RAW is shipping

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by damoncooper, Mar 16, 2016.

  1. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  2. FlyHighUSA

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Munfordville Ky
    The DJI Inspire Raw is shipping now but the X5R sold individually will be shipping out next week according to my guy at DJI. I can't wait to get my hands on this baby.
     
    damoncooper and gruvpix like this.
  3. Brendan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    36
    Awesome! Can't wait to see the footage
     
  4. southerndoug

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    15
    Money paid. Fingers crossed....
     
  5. Raphael Dahan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    64
    Hey Ralph, can i have one from the new bench that alredy comes with the X5R, since I orderd both from you?
     
  6. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    The I1 Raw isn't black tho. I wanted the Pro Black + X5R. Killer combo in my opinion
     
  7. Raphael Dahan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    64
    Ahh, ok yes I know it's a killer , that's why I orderd them. Thanks Damon.
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  8. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Get ready to fill every single drive you own. In about 10 minutes.
     
    Mad_angler1 likes this.
  9. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Bring it on. Transcode to ProRes on import. Keep the detail, ditch the bits.
     
    InterMurph likes this.
  10. RaptorMan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    213
    ProRes isn't some magic thing that retains all the detail of a 200Mbps stream in a 20Mbps stream -- math no work that way! If it did there would be no need for the X5R and it's SSD.

    So, use ProRes to make smaller files for editing (proxy) than use the full sized files for render/output.


    Brian
     
  11. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I'm well aware of what ProRes and CinenaDNG are. My company invented the later.
     
  12. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    You are the founder of Adobe!???:eek:
     
  13. Mad_angler1

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    159
    Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. Phatzo

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Hungary
  15. Phatzo

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Hungary
    ???? wow :)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    See this is what I would really love to do, and completely understand that although it makes complete sense, such a possibility will never be made available through DJI.

    Mount a BM Micro Cinema Camera to a purpose-built gimbal for the Inspire (or Matrice). The camera is priced at $1000 US, shoots 1080p60 max (no 4k), MFT lens mount and most importantly, a beautiful image from a company that specializes in imaging. It records ProRes to SD cards and takes a Canon LP-E6 battery... Music.
    But it will never happen with DJI, I'll have to shell out $$$ for a new system that guaranteed does not have the intuitiveness and power of the DJI UI, while DJI f---'s around with a zillion FW updates to bandaid a poorly engineered camera.

     
  17. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    227
    That camera doesn't do 4K, and has a much smaller sensor than the X5.

    At some point, the video quality of the X5 will be where it should. We just have to wait.
     
  18. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    1,620
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Not founder, only been here since 1998 :)
     
    gruvpix likes this.
  19. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    Yes the sensor is about half the size, but at least the full sensor is used unlike the X5 which cannot process the full sensor readout due to the slow SoC.
    Also I would rather have beautiful 1080p than crappy 4k any day of the week.
    I don't think the X5 will ever get to that level of quality... The X5R, maybe, but not at that price. I can get 1.5 Micro Cinema cameras for the price of one X5R SSD...
     
  20. RaptorMan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    213

    I guess you better not tell them you use FCP then :D

    Brian