Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Inspire V2 Unexpected Landing.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Randalhadeed, Jul 3, 2016.

  1. Randalhadeed

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was flying my Inspire last evening, battery level was at 50% software is V 1.9.1.10
    I performed a RTH and within a few seconds after I confirmed my command I received " Aircraft Disconnected!"
    My Inspire remained " Disconnected" for about 2 minutes and when it regained communication with my controller it had already landed about 1/4 mile from its home point?
    Let me add that it landed on the shoulder of a main road, cars traveling in both directions , I was able to locate it by moving my gimble and getting a visual as to exactly where it was.
    I reviewed my flight log and it comfirmes my initial takeoff , landing gear status and shows the home point.
    At the point that the aircraft disconnected from my controller there is no stick inputs , no V or H speed, altitude was 226 feet and just shows " landing gear lowered, landing "
    Thank God there was no damage to the quad or anyone, I certainly do not feel to fuzzy about this and I am less than enthusiastic to fly today.
    Any thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    3,883
    And what are your RC signal lost settings set to?
    Hover?
    Land?
    Return to Home?
     
  3. Randalhadeed

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. It's set to return to home.
     
  4. Randalhadeed

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just did another flight. Same result, the craft attempted to land at the spot it was over when I did a RTH.
    The craft did not disconnect like the previous flight so I was able to cancel the landing and fly it back to me manually.
    Any clue why the RTH is triggering an immediate landing?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Randalhadeed

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great forum. That's for all the solid advice and help.
     
  6. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    354
    I would advise you to roll back to 1.8.
    There are issues with 1.9. Search the forums. It's all over the place. On the DJI forum it is a much discussed topic, as well as over here. There was an issue with the SDK RTH function (as reported by Auto Flight Logic) and DJI addressed that, introducing a string of totally new issues with, among others, the barometer, which causes the bird to ascent or descent randomly.

    I haven't come across your specific issue but it sure looks related.
     
  7. MICHEAL RINEY

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have found that RTH is not effective within 60 feet of the HP. Within 60 feet invoking the RTH results I'm auto landing.
    It may not be the issue you are experiencing but could be catastrophic if near water or other hazards. DJI should warn the users in their guide of this issue
     
    zulu likes this.
  8. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    3,883
    They do.

    Quote: "Aircraft automatically descends and lands if RTH is triggered when the aircraft flies within a 20 meter (65 foot) radius of the Home Point."
     
    John Archer likes this.