Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

iPad Air 2 with Inspire 1

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Paul Burgess, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. Paul Burgess

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the iPad Air 2 too cumbersome for the Inspire controller...too large?

    anyone using one?

    How does it work without a shade?

    If a shade is used, which shade?

    Answers would be very much appreciated.
     
  2. Tahoe Ed

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    251
    PM Blade Strike. He uses one and has a favorite hood.
     
  3. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
  4. Wiski23

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    12

    I have that Velcro shade it does jack. It's slightly too wide on the iPad air2 and lets a lot of light in... I prefer no shade to that & just adjust the screen brightness with the inspire RC. But I'm going to make one of these but extent the length to my head pretty much, it looks like it will keep out all the light

    http://www.inspirepilots.com/threads/the-4-sunshade-tutorial-video.1300/#post-13661
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  5. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Ok, thx for the tip.
     
  6. sirnikolas

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    988
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    I spoke to Dji 24/7 tech support the other night and they recommended the ipad air 2. I'll be buying the air 2 indefinitely.
     
    Outta Control likes this.
  7. Ranchbroker

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    I use an iPad air 2. I took a cereal box and made a shade for it by covering it with grey tape. Works great.
     
  8. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA.
    hoodivision is sending me a custom made ihoodi that they made just for the inspire . I should have it either today or Monday.
     
    johnmont250 likes this.
  9. jrs

    jrs

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    clinton NY 13323
    I have a air 2_and a hood I all so just put a anti glare screen protector to help.
     
  10. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA.
    IMHO it's a must to run the two together.
     
  11. OnAnotherLevel

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    9
    I literally have my coat on right now about to go buy an air 2. Never been a fan of android and if dji recommends air 2 that's what I'm going with for sure. I like iMovie and iPhoto also. Good editing right on the tablet. Hopefully will eliminate having to edit on a computer for smaller jobs..only downfall is they're so damn expensive. Oh well.
     
  12. Highrpm955

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    223
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA,USA
    I have an Ipad Air2.... just no Inspire yet. It was supposed to be here yesterday vis UPS, however, ..we have had some crappy weather with snow and ice. DELAYED. Love the Air2, and hoping to love my I1.
     
    OnAnotherLevel likes this.
  13. QuadGrandad

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Southern Pines, NC
    I'm using Air2. If possible, dedicate it just to being your monitor. I really like it, but the glare is an issue. There is a guy on YouTube who made a great hood if you're a DIY person.
     
  14. kilowonghk

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    air2 that i am using is the best. i have android sony z2 and the system is just not as smooth as apple. its not too big for the air 2 for my friend has ipad mini and he is complaining its too small and gonna upgrade.
     
  15. Ascender

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Tampa, FL

    Grandad,

    Why do you suggest to keep it dedicated only as a monitor?
     
  16. QuadGrandad

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Southern Pines, NC
    The more apps you have running in the background, the less resources you have available for the pilot app. The Air2 has an A8 processor, which is currently the fastest, but every lit bit helps. It's just "cleaner".
     
  17. OnAnotherLevel

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    9
    I plan on using it solely for the inspire. I do want to showcase my work on it for potential clients to view. Seems like a great way to advertise. I am determined to make a full time job out of this (although it may be too fun to be called a job)...I'm tired of the oil field!
     
    Ascender and lrwskyfilms like this.
  18. Inspirepr

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you post pics?
     
  19. mike_k

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    15
    Except for a few Apple apps like the clock/alarm app, there really aren't apps running in the background. When you double push the home button it's not showing the apps running in the background, it's just showing an app history. All of those apps aren't actually running. There is no need to have an iPad dedicated for the Inspire. ​
     
  20. StupidGate

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    4
    Please advise what is different from the new hoodvision padhat Air (for air 2). I ordered on Friday after talking customers service and they didn't meention a special version for the Inspire 1.