Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Is the X5R using a newer "A9 Plus" SOC?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5R' started by damoncooper, Apr 28, 2016.

  1. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    FlyHighUSA and slim.slamma like this.
  2. InterMurph

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    227
    It would make sense that they would need more CPU horsepower to feed the SSD, the SD card, and Lightbridge.

    But the logic of the X5R is that they're not going to spend any of that extra CPU on the SD card video.

    But what if there is no SSD inserted?
     
  3. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    X5R records to SD and SSD simultaneously, so it's still used for that plus video LB feed.
     
  4. Joe Lawry

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Picked up my Inspire RAW yesterday, so still learning the raw ropes. Im guessing if i dont insert the SSD the camera just turns into a normal X5 and records to the micro sd?
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  5. xzoticskillz

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    108
    Yes I'm getting that on mine as well. Would this mean we would have the possibility of recording higher frame rates at a higher bit rate? Such as recording 1080p60p at 400mbps to the ssd? Or even 1080p120p at 200mbps? It definitely seems like the ssd could handle it. Wondering why there's no discussion on higher bitrates at higher frame rates.............
     
  6. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Time for a teardown!
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  7. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    You guys go first :)
     
    slim.slamma likes this.
  8. Brendan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    36
    This is interesting, apart from my initial issues with the Cinema DNG into premiere, I love this camera! Haven't had something for a long time that exceeds my expectations
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  9. ringolong

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    65
    Q: Are X5 users also seeing "A9 Plus" on their About screens?
    That record does not show on mine. Completely missing. Maybe next fw update will show it.
     
  10. ianwood

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The other Ian already took an X5 apart. We just need a X5R teardown. Didn't someone say it has more thermal paste? Someone's been in there? Who's got the pix?
     
  11. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Which A9 chip was in the X5 do you recall?

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  12. burlbark

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    11
    Neither of those is used in the x5... I tore one apart for referencing a couple months back. Still got the boards in electrostatic bags.

    Its an A9-A1-RH A9S75
     
  13. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,453
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Interesting. That's not listed on their website. What do you think that means?
     
  14. burlbark

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    11
    Some variation or change to the flashing of the chipset. Likely clocking.