Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Is there a conversion available to upgrade the v1 to the v2?

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by mfinn1223, Apr 14, 2016.

  1. mfinn1223

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I am new here and have a Inspire v1 and am wondering if they have come up with a way to upgrade/convert the v1 to the v2 options (new motors and gimbal mount).

    Thanks all,

    - Mike
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,721
    Likes Received:
    3,878
    What is it you want to actually achieve?
    If it is simply to be able to use an X5/X5R then all you need do is buy the revised gimbal plate and feet risers that come as a kit, fit them and you then have a V2.
    The 'upgraded' motors make no perceptible difference in performance . I have flown both an out of the box V2 and a 'converted' V2 running identical FW and there is no flight dynamic difference between them.
    The necessity for a Gimbal adapter and feet height risers is clearly stated on DJI website if you go to the X5/X5R product page to purchase.
     
  3. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Yup, I've upgraded mine as The Editor says. New gimbal plate and feet (which come with the plate kit), added the X5, stuck the Pro firmware on there and I have a V2 Pro but without the motors. The V2 props can also be fitted with the adapter plate kit and props from DJI. I have done this too.
     
  4. mfinn1223

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all, question answered!
     
  5. Mikemike180

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can one of you guys post a link tho this kit, I'm looking to do all these upgrades but not sure what I'm looking at, thanks
     
  6. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Had you read the thread you'd have seen there is no "kit". You jsut buy a gimbal plate and the prop /adapter set...
     
  7. Mikemike180

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Pretty sure someone mentioned a plate kit...