Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Is this type of banding to be expected from this sensor...?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by JeffW35, Jan 28, 2016.

  1. JeffW35

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    My first demo run tonight. I wanted to make sure the bird flew, and I KNOW this is not a camera for night aerial photography, but man that banding is TERRIBLE. I remember my Canon 5dMK2 used to be bad when pushed but this is STRAIGHT off the raw file with no editing or RAW touch-ups....

    This is my first M4/3 sensor, so I want to know if this is normal....
     

    Attached Files:

  2. gruvpix

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    337
    What FW version are you on?
    I took this tonight - iso 800, 1/10 sec, f2

    not the most amazing shot but as you can see no banding
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Alastair

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Prince Edward Island, Canada
    It's a little overexposed but I don't see the banding you're talking about. Are you confusing the shadows of the streetlights for banding?
     
  4. burlbark

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    11
    It sure shows up when you open the picture and look at the night sky. Unacceptable.
     
  5. Alastair

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Prince Edward Island, Canada
    Ah! See what you mean now! You're right, unacceptable!
     
  6. JeffW35

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    I just updated my firmware today to the latest version.

    I will do more experimenting tomorrow trying different ISO and F stops. Was just curious if this happened and to get used to it, or if theres something else at play.
     
  7. JeffW35

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    Could ALSO be the Adobe RAW converter?! I need to try JPG as well as RAW files!
     
  8. PrimeMotivator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Try underexposing then bring it back in post.