Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

ISO TEST DJI X5

Discussion in 'Zenmuse X5' started by airdrone, Jan 3, 2016.

  1. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    Have made a video that shows ISO differences with DJI X5, 25mm lens. Landscape mode. sharpness +., None color. firmware v1.3.0.60 2015-12-22

     
    #1 airdrone, Jan 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2016
    Cruncher and rilot like this.
  2. Mark C

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thanks Airdrone
     
    rilot likes this.
  3. Phil-RCGeeks

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Does anyone know what the X5's native ISO is?
     
  4. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Surprisingly little noise even at 6400. Thanks for posting.
     
  5. andrew259

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    85
    Hey - there is no Iso flicker here? Is this the new 1.6 firmware?
    I had a shoot in South Africa ruined by the iso flicker... But that was 1.3


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. x5yo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    68
    I belive its 200, despite it being set at 100 at default. In other words, if filming in the day,you should probably use 200 over 100.

    I'll wait for the new firmware before I think too much more about this camera.
     
  7. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    What do you need to think about? The camera is great but it won't help if you are not a camera person. One needs to know how to use a camera unlike the X3
     
  8. x5yo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    68
    its 3pm on a cloudy day 90 mins before sunset, my iso is 200, my aperture is 5.4, my shutter speed is 60 and everything looks well exposed and metered, I'm hovering looking left to right and my footage is grainy.
    I'm using custom WB of 6000k.
    I'm using none in the colour profile.
    UHD@30 FPS.
    sharpness, contrast, saturation is @ 000

    Feel free to enlighten me on what I have done to deserve grainy footage in the above example and what your expertise would do in conjunction with this 'great' camera to solve this issue?

    I'm obviously missing something you must know about and look forward to the missing ingredient.

    Thanks
     
    #8 x5yo, Jan 7, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2016
    zoltanh likes this.
  9. DennisR

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Im afraid it should not be producing grainy footage with those settings. I hope someone else can help but the only think I can see is you could drop the ISO to 100.
     
  10. x5yo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    68
    the native ISO on this cam is 200, dropping to 100 does you no favours, it probably harms.
    native ISO and native iso in terms of what the cm defaults to are separate things if you were not sure.
    I know lower ISO usually means cleaner shots, but many cameras fake it.
    Thanks anyway :)

    I got an idea, DJI have fked somethign up.
     
    #10 x5yo, Jan 7, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2016
  11. Zap222

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Make sure you have the latest firmware in platform, payload and batteries. Re calibrate camera then if still grainy using them settings send it back to DJI. I have no noise on my images even at 1000 +'iso
     
  12. Xrover

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Nice job airdrone.. No Flicker at iso 800 as others have claimed. What is the fluctuating Red light on the bottom of the image at iso 1600 and up?
     
  13. Ole Martin Wold

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't fathom why you have no of the dreaded flickr mate.. Any pointers?
     
  14. Phil-RCGeeks

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Cheers for that. Where did you read that 200 is the native ISO? I can't seem to find it in any official DJI litriture
     
  15. airdrone

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    57
    the red light is lights from inspire one that glows
     
  16. AdrianL

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    wow, I figured there would be more noise due to the small sensor size + high megapixel count. we truly have entered the future (slight sarcasm).
     
  17. x5yo

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    68
    I might be wrong, just something I heard on RC groups off someone who was pretty informed, but really, I think its best we all wait for .70 before we draw any conclusions or finalise any testings as its likely to be the best update and whatever settings you think you have nailed down could well change.

    Personally, I don't think the X5 is in a good enough state right now to really worry about it, for most it will just be something they select to get closer to perfect exposure.