Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Issue with IMU Calibration

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Help' started by Ibrahim, Sep 22, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Ibrahim

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello there.

    I crashed my Inspire 1 yet I fixed everything with a new parts. At first its work great then I decided to do IMU Calibration but it reach 94% then stopped. I put it on a very flat surface. I mean Ive done all what dji told me and I still face this issue.

    Please if anyone know how to fix this and I'm wondering where IMU located.
     
    Kleiber Borba likes this.
  2. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Make sure there is NO VIBRATIONS from either the AC or the flat surface, I recall one guy had a broken fan blade on the AC that was causing a small vibration which stopped the IMU from calibrating..
     
  3. Ibrahim

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yea also the fan is broken .. I thought its small things and wouldn't cause any thing. So can I replace just the fan ? or turn it off then after the IMU turn it on ?
     
  4. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I think it is best to replace the fan, I am sure it is just a standard PC cooling fan that you should be able to acquire at any PC repair shop.
    Meanwhile, disconnect the fan and see if your IMU will calibrate, at least you will know that the fan is causing the problem..
     
  5. Ibrahim

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will do that .. thank you Aviator very very much
     
  6. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You are welcome..
     
  7. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    I had to start an IMU calibration again after a farm tractor and trailer came trundling down a track some distance away.
     
  8. Ibrahim

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes finally I made it. the problem as you told me was caused by the VIBRATIONS from the broken fan.


    I really appreciated it ..
     
  9. Aviator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Happy Days!
     
  10. lovetofly

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hi.
    I think you will find that imu will be located slap bang in the centre of the flight control board. But don't quote me exactly on that.
    Someone may be able verify that for you.
     
  11. YIMMY7

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    how to do an IMU calibration after FW 1.4
     
  12. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,869
    The IMU is integral to the flight controller - it is not a physical 'thing' that you can see. It is made of of mems gyro units and solid state accelerometers.
     
  13. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,708
    Likes Received:
    3,869
    The same way you did it with v1.3
     
  14. LeesburgAirlines

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Virginia
    So I have installed the latest App version 2.4.1 and cannot find the IMU calibration function, the same place it was. Can anyone help me locate it?
     
  15. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    It is on the MC Settings menu ( top left button) on the Sensors sub-menu and scroll to the bottom.
     
  16. LeesburgAirlines

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Virginia
    Thanks, and I'm not seeing the "MC Settings" anywhere now. It's a bit frustrating when everytime they come out with an update things move around. Can you be more specific? Thanks.
     
    Alastair likes this.
  17. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    It has not moved anywhere in the last 3 months on the iOS GO app (now 2.4.1). Are you connected to the aircraft? On start close the Status dialog and tap the second icon from the top left (4 circles). That calls up the MC Settings menu and make sure you are not on a sub-menu (tap arrow at top left of dialog). Scroll down to Sensors and select, then scroll to bottom.
     
  18. LeesburgAirlines

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Virginia
    Well it took a shut down of the App then restart for the Sensors button to re-appear. Go figure, AND thanks so much for your help!