Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Just crashed my I2 - what should I check before another flight.

Reaction score
Learned the stopping distance in sport mode the hard way. It is a long distance! Smacked my I2 into a pile of sand and two props broke. Snapped right off. No damage to the airframe but sand everywhere. Used light compressed air to blow all that off and out and now I am wondering if there is anything else to check over. Any ideas? The good news is that only the red props broke and yes they were the ones that rattled. (mixed blessing I guess) Can I monitor the temps of the motors to see if anything is tweaked?

Did you have a gimbal mounted camera attached?

I haven't done what you have so I have no experience in this but I would personally do the following:

1 - full visual inspection of the entire RPA & the batteries, looking for any obvious damage to the air frame or parts. Pay attention to the arms for cracks as well as loose screws, any cables that are visible are not damaged

2 - turn the motors and note any resistance to movement (like sand in the motors). If there isn’t you'll need to take the prop mounting plates off and clean it out

3 - get rid of the White props, you have spares so just write them off

4 - power up without the props on and systems check, re-calibrate IMU, Compass, Gimbal (if required), check GPS connections, take note of the battery levels, any cell imbalances (if the batteries are damaged - you'll need to dispose of them safely)

5 - Cycle the landing gear (without the props on) and check movement

6 – In a safe space (without the potential of other people walking into the area) Props on and power up, then command motors on, leave running on the ground. You may want to anchor the landing gear down and do a throttle up power test. Take note of any sounds or vibrations that aren't "normal"