Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Loss of control from RC

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by GarryS, Sep 14, 2015.

  1. GarryS

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, new here and I wish I wasn't posting this. Only had my I1 for a few days - lots of test flights, and no problems. Yesterday at a local park - did all the pre-flight checks, hit the takeoff btn, it lifts off and hovers, then no response from the RC. Quickly hit the land btn. It started to roll to the right, lost power and landed. Checked everything again, bit shaken. tried again and everything worked fine.
    This morning same thing happened again - took off, hovered then no RC control, started to drift, lost power dropped to ground and slid down the bank into the river. Retrieved it, but wont turn on now. Any suggestions would be great.
     
  2. JayBurd

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    41
    Are there other drone operators in the area? More importantly somoene that doesn't like a buzzing drone flying over their head? A RF jammer can definitely cause the behavior, or a faulty RC, or the receiver on the bird itself.
     
  3. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Hi GarryS
    Welcome to the forum even in these unfortunate circumstances. I would suggest that you double check your sensor values and recalibrate the IMU, compass and RC as a starting position. Make sure the RC antenna are both vertical and not crossing. What position do you have the P-A-F switch? Try it in ATTI mode, avoid the auto take option, and try to hover just above the ground. This should prove whether it is the loss of control and not a failure of your flight controller.
     
  4. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    @GaryS. If you have a problem like you first described I would advise to ground your i1 immediately until exhaustive tests are done, don't keep trying it hoping it will be OK next time without discovering the cause. This is not a random thing, there is always a cause waiting to be discovered. There is always plenty of help here for you. If you do a search here for checklists you will also find it useful. In every checklist you will see 'Check the sensors'. Even if it says 'Safe to fly'. They should be within these parameters:
    Gyroscope Mod – 0.00
    Acceleration (g) Mod – .99 to 1.01
    Compass Mod – Mod – 1400 to 1600

    Also check your takeoff position. Avoid concrete areas (hidden rebar), manhole covers, iron railings close by...anything metal.

    With the recent firmware updates that you probably did, did you do a full IMU recalibration on a perfectly flat surface and recalibrate the sticks on the RC? These should be done every time there is an update.

    When you say there was no response from the RC, was there any on screen messages? Was there still plenty of satellites showing?

    As far as your aircraft is concerned, never switch it on after a slide into the river. Chances are you will blow something. Remove battery and mop any loose water off and blow dry for at least 30 minute's. Buy a sack of rice and bury the AC and the battery in it and cover the container with cling film. Leave it there for a week before trying a different battery. Fingers crossed.
     
    The Editor and Scotflieger like this.
  5. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    That bird should go straight to DJI service so they can see what happened with the logs, and fix the water damage in the process.
     
  6. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Better checking all the usual stuff first. Last resort would be DJI
     
  7. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    How do you want him to check anything when his bird doesn't turn on? And after a dip in water you would NOT want to turn it on just like that in the first place. I know some have done it, but to me it would be reckless to fly with a machine that has been in the water. You don't put a 2.5kg machine in back in the air just hoping rice did something to prevent damage, it needs proper inspection and servicing.
     
    #7 Kilrah, Sep 14, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2015
    Scotflieger likes this.
  8. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    Sorry missed the bit about the water. I agree that a return to DJI after thorough drying is the way to go.
     
  9. GarryS

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for all your reply's - nice to see a lot of support here. After the dip in the river, I dried as best I could and took it straight back to store I bought it from. I will have to wait to see the outcome. I will update when the store comes back to me. Thanks all
     
  10. Jimmykjimmy

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    Here's a situation I experienced twice. The camera was not properly seated in the quad. Startup can be fine, but after it takes off vibration can loosen the camera causing a loss of signal. I always check camera now.
     
  11. Kevin Hancox

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    27
    Where did you buy it, it may simply be quickest to speak to where you purchased from, especially if a drone specialist...
     
  12. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    348
    The camera doesn't fly the Inspire1. Loss of camera connection only means you have no video screen. The I1 can still fly fine, without camera, even without App, if that would crash.
    You should to be able to fly the bird without camera or screen actually. The RC allows you to control the Inspire1 just like any conventional RC craft. If you can't fly it without FPV and/or App you better not fly it at all.

    Doesn't hurt to check the proper seating of the camera connection though. It is at least inconvenient to lose your screen and video. But it is not needed to fly.
     
    Scotflieger likes this.
  13. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    348
    You can read that he already took it back to the store he bought it from.