Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Manchester Air Traffic Control

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Heller792, Jul 9, 2015.

  1. Heller792

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi everyone,

    Does anyone have a contact number for Manchester ATC? I have a job in Stockport that I need advice on.

    kind regards,
    Dave
     
  2. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Do you have PFAW?
    ATC will not give 'advice' they will only give permission (or not).
    Although they work under an ethos of equivalence they probably will not allow non CAA certified RPA uses in ATZ and most of if not all of Stockport is class D airspace.
    I am not sure whether you are CAA certified though.
    Do you have a long and lat for your anticipated area of operation which you would have to give to ATC in any case as they will not entertain addresses or postcodes etc.
     
  3. Heller792

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi and thanks for the reply,

    Yes I do have PFAW but it's a funny one this, I will be working in a park, loads of space and I also have permission to fly over the property that is to be developed. The work is for a digital imaging company that puts renders of completed buildings over the aerial image.

    Although I have the space required, the permissions in place I am not happy with the location to Manchester approach, I would rather turn work away than carry out a job I am not happy with.

    54° 24` 22 . 7n
    2° 10 '12 . 2w
     
  4. Kauaigene

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    96
    So good to see "smart" users instead of some of the nutty things people are doing. Up thumbs up. :D:D:D
     
    lake_flyer and The Editor like this.
  5. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Are you sure those coordinates are right? That puts me just west of 'Rukins campsite' south of the A66 toward the Lake District?

    Here -> https://www.google.co.uk/maps/place...42,298m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m2!3m1!1s0x0:0x0?hl=en
     
  6. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    BTW - I have PM'd you Manchester's (EGCC) ATC telephone number as I do not want to put it out on open forum

    Cheers
     
    Scotflieger likes this.
  7. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Case of having to be if you hold CAA approval. Otherwise they will take it away faster than Joan Collins changes husbands !:p
     
    damoncooper likes this.
  8. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    I can understand your concern. The closest point of Stockport to the Airport is about 3NM which means aircraft on the 3 deg glideslope will be about 1000ft AGL. You could mitigate the risk by reducing your max working altitude to say 60m (200ft) or arrange the work for when the wind in the NE and they are operating on 23L/R. Manchester would probably require a NOTAM to be issued.
     
    #8 Scotflieger, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015
    The Editor likes this.
  9. Heller792

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    Sorry Google spat those coordinates out to me as I'm not in the office near my maps.

    just used Google again to come up with the following

    Latitude/Longitude: 53.4075, -2.1687

    I am a firm be liver in doing things right hence my concerns and the customer has stated in the brief that the image is to be taken between 15.00 and 16.00 to capture the sun light and the camera height is at 390ft.
     
  10. Heller792

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    I think waiting for the wind direction is a must to be honest. I can see from my home that they are landing from Stockport today, I will contact ATC and see what they say.

    Dave
     
  11. Heller792

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah sorry my typo
     
  12. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,724
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    Wow! - That is tight....... I'm not sure I would want to take that one even without the ATC issues :p

    I guess you could set up a cordon and shoot from Hollywood Park and stay back the required distance from Hardman and Wood Street. Would be very restrictive though. If they want you to fly over the prop it will be extremely difficult with standard permissions.

    Rather you than me :confused:

    Let us know how you get on.
     
  13. Heller792

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    agree, the images would be dead centre of Hollywood park
     
  14. Scotflieger

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    Buckie, Scotland, UK
    I think I agree with Editor. The site is 7.6km from the 05R threshold which would place approaching aircraft at 1000m AGL (3000ft) and where they would be commencing descent. Possible mitigation is that the wind for that runway would send any flyaway RPA in the opposite direction. Also with the congested area you would need to operate at the weekend when arrivals would be lighter. It is feasible with ATC clearance but...
     
    #14 Scotflieger, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015
  15. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    354
    Couldn't agree more.