Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Mapping with I1Pro

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by licensed pilot, Jul 19, 2016.

  1. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    Been mapping with great success with the P3P but regardless of how carefully I calibrate the X5, I cannot get properly focused images (using Map Pilot and MME). Anyone has any tips? The P3P makes great geomaps but no such result yet with the I1Pro.

    Spare me the smart aleck replies, please.
     
  2. davlucmac

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Seattle, WA and Charlottesville, VA
    can you upload some example images?
     
    Helnet likes this.
  3. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    INSPIRE 1 PRO ON TOP ----Phantom 3 PRO IMAGE BELOW DJI_0080.JPG
    DJI_0268.JPG
     
  4. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    South West Florida
    How are you focusing and what are the camera settings?
     
  5. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    I don't. The app (Map Pilot) handles focusing (not very well)
     
  6. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Does the map pilot also set the shutter speed and aperture? Where do you have those set at?
     
  7. USsUASDriver

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hi. Looks like you're using the DJI stock lens. Aperture at the time of exposure was recorded as f/2.2. If you can specify an aperture to the app, I'd suggest f/5.6 or f/8.0 I've found that wide open or really stopped down, the stock lens was soft. f/4 to f/8 seemed to be the sweet spot.

    Not familiar with your mapping app - but is sounds like it doesn't handle focus? If that's the case, you might try manual focus and infinity at f/5.6 or f/8.0.
     
  8. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    Not sure about the capability of the app to handle aperture, but there is no way when the app is invoked to take control of the focus, I set the lens to auto in advance but perhaps it is better to set to manual and infinity, I' ll try f/5.6 and f.8 next time. Thanks.
     
    SanCap likes this.
  9. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    South West Florida

    You can't tap on the screen to focus like DJI Go?
     
  10. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    LOL, no. That would be too easy. App takes over...completely different screen.
     
    SanCap likes this.
  11. RaptorMan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    213
    Have you contacted the vendor or checked to see if they have a user forum?


    Brian
     
  12. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    Yes, no helpful suggestions yet....
     
  13. Ale Reynoso

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    I see the P3P very sharpened compared with the Inspire. Camera setting I mean.
    Try raising the sharpening in the I 1. Besides working on lens sweet spot
     
  14. davidjmurray

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    New Castle, NH
    I am not familiar with Map Pilot either. But if there's really no way to control focus within that app then you might try using a lens that lets you disable autofocus, like the Olympus 12mm. It supports this via an easy to miss ring on the barrel of the lens; slide it to reveal focus setting marks, and you've also disabled autofocus. So you could prefocus the lens as usual, disable auto focus on the lens itself, and then fly your mapping mission under Map Pilot Control. Of course Map Pilot might balk at using the lens in this setting, so this is just speculation, and finding a way to exercise proper control while using Map Pilot would clearly be preferable.

    Just in case you don't already know the ins and outs of depth of field control, especially while using a camera like the X5, I recommend this article: Understanding Your Camera’s Hyperfocal Distance. It does not mention the X5, but the concepts presented there are relevant. Specifically, your P3P is not "prefocused on infinity." It is prefocused at its hyperfocal distance, so that a wide range of distances are acceptably in focus, including infinity. If you want to use your X5 in the same way from a focus perspective, you can focus it at its hyperfocal distance too, which varies depending on the focal length and aperture you are using at the time. And, of course, there are times when it is more appropriate to focus somewhere other than the hyperfocal distance, depending on your needs. The article referenced above does a nice job addressing that too.

    Here are a couple of additional ideas just in case they apply here:
    Pics sometimes look blurry for reasons other than bad focus: motion blur caused by shooting with too slow a shutter speed, non optimal aperture (between f5.6 and f8 are usually good), artifacts from shooting at an excessively high ISO, especially after applying noise reduction, which can really soften images.

    Finally, sharpening X5 DNGs in post, which is preferable to using a high sharpening setting while shooting, can help a lot.

    Good luck!
     
    #14 davidjmurray, Jul 24, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2016
    licensed pilot likes this.
  15. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    Thanks, David. Am familiar with the basics and depth of field (I can take great shots via DJI GO) The issue with the app is that it takes all camera settings' control away from the operator during mapping flight.

    Am working with MME to resolve this...I do appreciate the tips...others are not reporting focusing issues, a few are. So I just need to work on my techniques..
     
  16. USsUASDriver

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Chicago
    If the app is actually messing up the focus, consider setting focus to infinity and then slide the AF/MF switch on the lens to MF. (In other words, set MF in DJI Go, tap on infinity, then slide the switch on the lens.) Don't forget to slide it back whenever you go back to normal flying.
     
  17. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    That's an idea. Will try. Thanks .
     
  18. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    Tried that, worked great. Thanks.