Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Mods: 1 win and 1 fail.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JJ_2016, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. JJ_2016

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    I received some Inspire stuff i purchased at ebay yesterday. First off was "External antenna mod" cables for the RC and some directional antennas. The cables was a bit to thick/long so kinda hard to route them properly inside the casing. I also had to cut of a "ear" on the "ISO-button" to get the RP-SMA connectors in the same place as the old antennas. Fixed it in place with some hot glue. Same with the 5.8ghz antenna inside the controller. Im looking forward to try it out tomorrow.

    20160706_223009.jpg
    The next mod made me really happy for about 5min. Im one of those who really wished i had an Zenmuse X5. So i got a sun hood for it. I superglued it to a spare lens i had. But after power on i realized it was to heavy. Two times the gimbal "lost its power" and the camera just hanged pointing down. I dont want to break my X3 so i dropped that idea :D.

    I really like the way it looked.
    20160706_222128.jpg
     
  2. JJ_2016

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Sorry, posted in wrong part of the forum...
     
  3. unyks

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    175
    You have to Balance the Camera if you use the hood you will find some threads about it...

    Chris
     
  4. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    You haven't tested the antenna mods? Why is it a "win"?
     
  5. JJ_2016

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Okey, so its possible if you balance it. Thats interesting. Thanks.

    Well its a win because i knew it would work. Done the same thing to other controllers before. Where i usually fly im under the threeline in a valley. Been out flying there after work today and i do get a much better signal. Didnt get any "stripes/lines" in the video feed.
     
  6. licensed pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    CASA GRANDE, AZ
    Glad to hear it...
     
  7. JJ_2016

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Norway
    Thanks, it might also be a "win" because i dont "speak" english everyday and tend to type sentences the way i think in norwegian. It doesnt always translate nicely :)
     
  8. Charles.mabry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Prescott, Az
    Well.... youre gonna have to ghetto rig it like you did with the hood. In the simplest form youll have to figure out the weight of the hood and create that same weight for the rear and attach said weight somehow, glue? The proper way is to figure out the ARM and MOMENT then of the hood and then counter that with a matched weight to the rear of the camera.

    You should be fine with just determining the weight of the hood and adding that to the back of the camera somehow...... If you go through with it be sure to post some results.... would like to see how the hood performs and if its beneficial to the X3.
     
  9. Charles.mabry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Prescott, Az