Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Motor change.

Discussion in 'Inspire 1 Discussion' started by Fanti, Nov 29, 2015.

  1. Fanti

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    72
    Hi guys, I need to change one motor. Are there any tutorials available on how to do it ? Have never done it so dont wang to risk. I googled already but didnt find anything helpful. Is the ESC detachable from the motor or are they one unit ? Read conflicting statements. Many thanks.
     
  2. msinger

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    94
  3. Fanti

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    72
    Thank you. But it doesnt really show how to exchange the motor, i.e. esc off or not, cabling, etc.
     
  4. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,879
    The motor is soldered directly to the esc but the esc is pluggable to the loom via bullet connectors.
    It is an easy job to swap the motor with competent soldering skills however if you do not feel comfortable with this you can change both the motor and esc without having to solder.
     
    Blue Bird likes this.
  5. Fanti

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    72
    Great, many thanks. The Motor is sold with the ESC or is it 2 separate items ? Isnt really clear from the spare parts no.
     
  6. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,879
    Where are you looking?
    It is not a user serviceable part.
     
  7. Fanti

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    72
  8. The Editor

    The Editor Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    3,879
    That's NOT an Inspire motor!
    Yes it IS a 3510/KV350 which is a standard size/rated motor and YES the Inspire does use this size of motor but you will never be able o fit it to the Inspire since the mounting is completely different.
    The E800 tuned prop system motors are standard 3510 threaded fit. The Inspire motors have a 90 degree securing non removable 'bracket' protruding from the bottom of the housing that slots into the motor mount on each arm.
     
  9. ringolong

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    65
    As Editor stated, these do have different mounts on the bottom from the ones you can purchase from the DJI site. You can buy these and diy. Last post on the below thread.

    E800 Motors | Page 2 | DJI Inspire Forum