Welcome Inspire Pilots!
Join our free DJI Inspire community today!

Need help with understanding Spectrum Analyzer Test.

Reaction score
Hello,

I have a pretty fair understanding of electronics but I lack experience and knowledge about radio signals, wifi systems, etc.
I've done some research on the subject but I know that some of you have experience and knowledge that is far superior to mine.
I'm trying to understand how the radio control system and the video feed works with the Lightbridge systems found on Inspires and Phantoms, I don't own a Phantom but I assume they use the same system.
I'm trying to figure out what makes it possible for these aircraft to fly so far with a such a high degree of reliability.

I use a Wi-Spy 2.4x Spectrum Analyzer receiver (USB type) and I'm using the older Chanalyzer 4 software made by MetaGeek. I've been using this setup for about three years and have found it to be very reliable and useful.
Just a quick example: I used my SA (Spectrum Analyzer) at a location that looked very congested with not only high amplitude signals but most were reddish orange in color indicating that those signals were very dense or strong. I was convinced it wasn't safe to fly my S800 (No Lightbridge). A friend was with me that also had an S800 but he decided that it was safe, he lost control of his bird and crashed it beyond repair. He lost a $2K camera too, it was a total loss all the way round! :-(
He now has his own spectrum analyzer and takes the warnings seriously. Lesson learned I guess.

The setup for my test:
I placed the I1 and the controller 400 ft. apart in an open field with no houses within 600 ft.
I noticed that the signal was only 10 MHz wide (I should have set the SA for frequency instead of channels).