Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

Needs advice from a photography guru !

Discussion in 'Photos and Videos' started by Mossie, Feb 25, 2015.

  1. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Leeds UK
    I want to take photos like some of the scenes I've seen on this forum, so I need to get the exposure correct.

    Some of the settings are confusing me ( easily confused !)

    Lets say it's getting dark and I want to increase the exposure , if I rotate the right hand wheel on the remote it changes the EV setting. However, if I select the auto/manual tap mid bottom right it highlights shutter speed. If I then rotate the right wheel it changes the shutter speed. What should I be changing EV or shutter ?

    The confusing thing is, if you select the right hand auto/manual tap you open up the ISO/Shutter/EV settings on the left. You can change those settings even though the Manual slider hasn't been selected to Manual, so should I leave it as it is or move the slider to Manual.
     
  2. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    Drawer closed = full auto, EV compensation exposes more or less in the way it thinks it should
    Drawer open but switch on auto = semi auto (force one of shutter/ISO, camera selects the other to reach the EV compensation you set)
    Drawer open and switch on manual = You set both ISO and shutter speed.
     
  3. tweaker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    76
    Kilrah
    when you say "Drawer" closed what do you mean by drawer?

    Sorry if I am having a doh! moment.
     
  4. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Leeds UK

    Thanks very much for the reply and sorry for being dumb, but I'm also not sure what you mean.
     
  5. huppe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    317
    The best option is to take photo's in DNG.By this you can optimize everything with for example photoshop.
    Changing shutterspeed will darken your picture wich is better then over exposure to light colors.
    My advice it's better to take a photo a little more dark then too light.
    And if you're in doubt take 2 or 3 photo with a slight correction on EV,so you can work with these 3 photo's and make it 1.
    Practice a lot with your settings and if you don't like the photo simple remove it from your pc.
    But transfer all photo's to your pc and work with them.
    Good luck
     
  6. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    The camera settings pane that comes out of the left side when you press the camera settings button and where the manual switch is.
     
  7. Meta4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    61
    If your expertise isn't in photography, it would probably be best to start using the auto settings and only dig into photographic settings if you are unhappy with the results.
    Have you tried auto and was there a reason you were wanting to dabble with manual settings or you just assume you should fiddle with them?
     
  8. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Leeds UK
    Yes, I think perhaps I'll stick to Auto for the present.
     
  9. acoll123

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    26
    Try using the auto exposure bracketing (AEB) option. Just hold down the picture button and it will open to give you options including AEB. It will take 3 or 5 pictures at the same time but with different exposures. For example with 3, it will under expose (darker picture) one; over-expose another (lighter picture) and take the third at what it thinks is the correct exposure. Depending on the software you use to process your pictures (I use Aperture with a plug-in) you can take the 3 or 5 pictures you took with the AEB option and merge them to create a high dynamic range (HDR) picture. I have attached an example I took recently with 3 bracketed shots 2015-02-16-Snow-2.jpg
     
  10. sdjackaerial

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    84
    Great pic!
     
  11. Mossie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Leeds UK

    Yes I'll try that bracketing, I've got Lightroom don't know whether it will merge to create HDR
     
  12. neil21

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    I think that's coming in the next Lightroom release.
     
  13. Kilrah

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,881
    Likes Received:
    728
    For now it requires Photoshop, from within Lightroom you select your photos, right-click, Edit in->merge to HDR in Photoshop.
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  14. Jenn348

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    59
    I'd suggest getting some books on general photography to learn what the settings mean. It could take a semester to get the basics :(
     
    lrwskyfilms and Kilrah like this.