Welcome to InspirePilots.com

Join the leading DJI Inspire community for free!

New Firmware Coming

Discussion in 'News' started by DK42, Jan 13, 2015.

  1. DK42

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Petawawa,ON Canada
  2. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Ok thx for sharing, I flew earlier no problem, but I check the IMU status anyway.
     
    DjiQuadzilla likes this.
  3. Diirk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    29
    DJI support told me that the new firmware will also fix an issue where the aircraft would make unrequested right turns every now and then.
     
    Anticipate likes this.
  4. lrwskyfilms

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    208
    Thx for sharing. Sounds like the UK's Labour party! LOL
     
  5. familyman5821

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dumb question

    Does the camera need to be attached to do the advanced imu calibration?
    My other dumb question, where can I find the advanced imu calibration
    thank you
     
  6. Steve is Inspired!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    30
    That is great! I have had to calibrate my compus and IMU several times so it would stop flying to the right.
    It's better but not 100% as of yet. I have hundred of hours on the Phantom 2 and this craft flys better the my new Inspire 1. So I hope DJI can get the bugs out like they did on the Phantom 2 and 2+.

    I don't plan to fly my Inspire 1 until the next FW reliece.
     
  7. Steve is Inspired!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    30
    Scroll down under the campass menu.
     
  8. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    I would advise having the camera attached, because when you do an IMU cal, the gimbal takes it's horizon reference off the IMU.
    Go to Mode>MC Settings>scroll to Advanced Settings at bottom of page>Sensors> scroll to bottom. Try check IMU first, it will tell you whether you need calibration. After calibration check your sensor mod values, Acceleration mod should be 1.0(+ or - .01), compass between 1400 -1500.
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  9. Mike Meyer

    Mike Meyer Guest

    From everything I am reading, it seems like we should do an IMU calibration after we install/update the latest firmware that we need to download from the DJI site. Is this correct? I'm getting my Inspire on Friday from UAV Direct (Texas).
     
    lrwskyfilms likes this.
  10. Steve is Inspired!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    30
    Hi Mike, yes both IMU and compass.

    Enjoy your new toy.

    Best regards, Steve
     
    DjiQuadzilla likes this.
  11. Ultra310x

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    44
    So I have an interesting problem well issue. My INspire flys just fine not issues at all but. when I check my IMU values there is nothing there. I have calibrated my IMU several times on different occasions. anyone know what the issue is ?
     
  12. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    I experienced the same issue. I solved it by signing out of the app (double tap the home button, scroll sideways through the apps that are open, find the DJI Pilot app, hold your finger on it for a second or two, and swipe it up off the page. This is the only way to actually log off open apps on the iPad.

    Once you start the app again, you should find your missing values.
     
    lrwskyfilms and DjiQuadzilla like this.
  13. Mike Meyer

    Mike Meyer Guest

    Very helpful...thanks.
     
  14. Quadpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    308
    Location:
    Chaska, MN
    Glad I could help. ;)
     
  15. Ultra310x

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    44
    thanks I've killed the app in past didn't think about it for the values. thanks they show up now
     
  16. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    160
  17. Mike Meyer

    Mike Meyer Guest

    So when I get my Inspire (hopefully tomorrow) I should just have to update firmware on the Inspire craft and the remote, and not do the advanced calibration?

    Thanks for your help
     
  18. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    160
    Me too, be here tomorrow. Got newest firmware bin files on sd and usb stick ready to update…

    Sent from my Dev Note 4
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Mazz

    Mazz Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    NY
    Advanced calibration is recommended even though it is not in the start up guide. I did all updates and when I checked IMU it said "calibration required" before ever flying it. Like someone said, these go through a lot on their way from China and maybe even get x-rayed. Recalibrating a sensor after something like that just seems necessary.
     
  20. Mike Meyer

    Mike Meyer Guest

    Thanks...

    Do you know anything about flying this thing indoors?

    I have a shot I'd like to get at our video production facility here in Columbus, Ohio (football capital of the world)...it is about 30 feet high and 80 feet long. I would like to be able to fly and shoot the length of the hallway from about 20 feet, moving very slowly. Obviously, I can't get GPS...and I know the sensors underneath are supposed to make the craft stable, but I'm not sure how stable it will be if I go a bit higher to get this shot. I'm wondering what position I should put the switch (on the remote - not P?) when flying indoors without GPS. I don't want to mess with this if the craft isn't stable at this height. I asked this on the DJI support page and I don't think they understood what I was asking.